We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”

Roots Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Roots Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Camas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 192nd
Description: Fresh, seasonal and local food.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Had an excellent dinner at Roots last night. I split a Spinach salad with fried oysters with a friend who had ordered the Chicken with ham and beans. The food was as per usual, excellent. We sat outside in the courtyard which is okay but somewhat noisy and having the trash bins close by was somewhat disconcerting. The service was good but not exceptional. I had a chipped glass and would have preferred they remove the glass and beer in it and replace it rather than handing me a different glass. My recommendation is go there for the food, eat indoors and be prepared for a little wait since everything is fresh and takes a little longer to prepare.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    33
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good food in the neighborhood.”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This restaurant tucked into this suburban strip mall had a surprisingly diverse menu, with focus on fresh vegetables. The halibut special was great, and the thick pork chop was cooked to perfection. The vegetable sides were fantastic. The desserts were good. The service was more appropriate for a hospital, with overuse of the "royal we" and dishes whisked away while we were still chewing. Noise level was very high even through there were not a lot of patrons.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CA7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I took my daughter to Roots for a Mother's Day dinner and it was very nice. Ambience, friendly/helpful staff and the presentation was 1st class! The beet salad served on a bed of green horseradish was not my daughter's favorite, but it was truly a BEET salad and I liked it. The halibut was cooked perfectly, flaky and moist. Scallop appetizers were sweet & succulent. Dessert was a very tasty warm rhubarb crisp. The wine selection was excellent, albeit way too high priced. Unless the owner is courting wealthy clients, prices should be reduced at all levels.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomSahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 915 helpful votes
“Good Food Ruined by Terrible Service”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

The hostess was pleasant but our server dropped the ball on every level.

My dining companion ordered the beet salad and the salmon. I had the soup and fish and chips.

The bread didn't come out until my soup did, both of which were placed in front of me with no comment whatsoever. No offer of fresh pepper. After waiting a couple of minutes for the salad, we asked the hostess where it was and then (a few minutes later), after it failed to materialize, we asked the waitress, who told us that she thought we had ordered the salad with the salmon "on top of it". Not sure what that meant but a few minutes later, well after I finished my soup, the salad arrived. The mains were presented while the salad was still being eaten.

Not once during our meal did the server stop to offer us a refill of water (or other beverages), ask us how the food was or apologize for the mistake.

My empty soup bowl sat in front of me for 10 minutes as did my plate when I was through.

Great food but that is not the whole dining experience. iHop provides better service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brush Prairie, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Place - Worth another Visit”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Been here for Breakfast as well as late night drinks and snacks. Liked it and want to go back again for another experience. Good food, a little pricy, and friendly service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Roots Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing