We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but for the mussels”

Roots Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Roots Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 56 Restaurants in Camas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 192nd
Description: Fresh, seasonal and local food.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good but for the mussels”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Four of us ate from the happy hour menu. Prices good, selection limited but several nice items available. Decent wine list.

I had the spinach salad, mussels and fries. The salad and fries were excellent. Three of us had the mussels. I eat mussels a lot and these were the worst I have ever had! We all agreed they were tasteless, shriveled up and tough, lukewarm, and the broth was almost all oil. Ugh!

Generally speaking the service was pleasant and competent, except that the server never came by after bringing our food to ask how everything was, and when she picked up our plates she didn't ask then. We had to volunteer how bad the mussels were. She told us they had had complaints about them before. This is probably why she didn't ask? Anyway she should have warned us when we ordered them, and they should not have been on the menu.

I would have given Roots a 4 or 5, but the mussels really colored our experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    31
    12
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Roots: Consistently good food but hard to see on the patio”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have dined at Roots two dozen times over the years, for both business and pleasure. Our most recent visit at 6:30 p.m. on a busy Friday had us dining out on the utilitarian patio due to lack of available tables inside. We enjoyed a great meal, as always, but it was nearly impossible to see any of it as the night sky settled in. The server brought over two votives, which valiantly tried to cast light on our dishes but with very little effect.

The server explained that Roots is limited in what it can do in terms of adding lighting, but it would seem to me that a serious discussion with the building's landlord is in order to discuss options. Twinkle lights mounted on the fence could make a world of difference and allow patrons to view their pricey plates.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ght0314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jacinto, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Decent but too expensive”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We ate here one for their happy hour. We thought the food was good but overpriced for happy hour. Happy hour should have reasonable prices and these prices were definitely not reasonble for happy hour so I can only give them an "average" rating.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
170 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 611 helpful votes
“Couple, or Conference”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Need a place for a presentation for 20 or so? Roots is the right place. Menu is superb, prices conservative. What we received (filet) was worth well more than we were charged. Not one negative from any in our group - all will return again and again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank SBruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,439 reviews
685 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 935 helpful votes
“Modern & Fresh Restaurant with Devine Food”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Went into Camas with a work colleague for dinner and after reading the reviews for 'Roots' decided to give it a try and we were not disappointed with the food.
The menu has a good selection of interesting dishes but the prices are on the higher side of what is the norm in the USA. Entree's varied from a low of about $17 upto nearly $40 for some steak. We did not have a starter (even though they were very tempting) and got straight into the entrees.
I had a beautifully cooked and presented Halibut steak with spinach and crushed potatoes ($27.00) and my colleague had Short Ribs of beef with roasted root veggies and pickled horseradish ($24.00). Both meals were cooked to perfection, using 100% fresh top quality produce, and nicely presented. As my HAlibut was quite light I had room for desert and went for the Rhubarb Crisp with Vanilla Ice Cream ($7.50). Again this was delicious but also priced a little high, as were all the deserts.
We both had a pint of 'on-tap brew' called Kolsch (a nice Larger like beer) and the total bill was $73.71 with taxes.

The service to be frank was a little slow and unattentive. It tooks ages for our order to be taken, then ages for our beers to arrive and then our server bought my desert but forgot to bring the coffee my colleague ordered (but they also missed it off the bill) and so that could have been a little better.

So in summary if you want fresh delicious food then go to 'Roots', you will pay a little more than average for it but in my opinion it's well worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberts69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roots Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Roots Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing