We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, great decor!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Gitano

El Gitano
Ranked #32 of 85 Restaurants in Burlington
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, great decor!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We decided on El Gitano after reading some reviews, and I'm glad we did! Very cool looking decor, and the people were very friendly. It was a Tuesday night, not a ton of people there, but they we were seated right away and they kept a close eye on us. The food was very good, and the margaritas were some of the best we've had in a while. I had the chicken adobado, spices were perfect,and it was cooked very well. I'll definitely go back if I'm in the area again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
367 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Quite nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was our first time to the Burlington EG, having been to the one in Mt Vernon often. There were four of us and we all tried different entrees. It was all good and tasty. Basic, standard, but well prepared and served. The service was excellent, helpful in recommending choices, and prompt in keeping the beverages coming. Enjoyable. We were also able to have nice conversations within the party and were not rushed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Were we just unlucky?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

If our experience at El Gitano was anything to go by, then the fact that it is the 3rd best restaurant in Burlington says more about eating in Burlington than anything else. There is a theory that the further away you go from the Mexican border, the less likely you are to have amazing Mexican cuisine. I come from the UK, a land almost completely devoid of Mexicans, yet I have had better Mexican fare there than I did at El Gitano.

Getting an order wrong when your restaurant is a hive of activity is regrettable, but understandable. Getting an order wrong when there is no-one else in the restaurant on a Saturday night (at around 7pm, not like it was midnight and everyone was tired) raises concerns. The El Gitano specialty burrito I ordered was pretty bland, although you can't fault them on quantity. The margaritas were pretty nice, but nothing that requires typing with capslock on.

Most Mexican restaurants we've been in are pretty family friendly and many are great with kids, but when we sat down with our son (who uses a knife and fork without issue), they didn't bother setting a place for him. I don't expect these places to provide us with a clown, but cutlery and a place mat to make him feel like he's included in the experience is always appreciated.

When the bill came, we'd been charged for the more expensive (and wrong) item that we had previously corrected.

Maybe we were just unlucky, because we chose this place based on many positive TripAdvisor reviews. But I can't say that I left feeling I'd had a great Mexican experience. I felt like I'd eaten a large average burrito from an average food truck in the heart of the Scottish Highlands.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pomeroyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
174 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Quite tasty. Happy with the experience overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Standard Mexican fare. We walked in and waited a bit before someone noticed we were waiting to be seated, but once seated, things went smoothly.

Great combo dishes, good prices.

Wished they were a little busier. I always feel uncomfortable when there are only a few tables seated in the entire restaurant,

Highly recommend if you want standard Mexican food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Whenever I come to this area I always eat at El Gitano. I took my boss there and he mentioned how great the atmosphere is. The food is always delicious. There are so many items on the menu to choose from. The value is unbelievable and the service is great! I can hardly wait until I return in September.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gitano also viewed

 

Been to El Gitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing