We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and 14 years old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Burlington
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Basic and 14 years old”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel was full the night we stayed. We were going to go on a whale watching trip the next day.
Check in was fine. There were two issues we had during our stay. My wife was going to use the toilet and the seat was lose. She strained her back from the jolt. The other issue was the phone by the bed didn't work. I tried to check the cord, connection etc. I needed a wake up call so that meant I had to walk to the front desk and nobody was there. Then the person had to accompany me to the room (my wife was in bed and it was around 11 and we were tired). He tried to get the phone to work and couldn't either. He proceeded to bring a different phone to the room and that did not work.
I was told the hotel is 13 or 14 years old. It is at the point where maintenance and repairs are starting to be needed. Also, I took a picture of the bed. The edge of the mattress was all smashed down. They need to replace the mattress on the beds. Everything wears out at some point.
They were fair and took of 20% the next morning. I appreciated that.
Staff were friendly, the breakfast was good and it was reasonably quiet.
The hotel was basically fine but just getting a bit tired.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helpingothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear helpingothers,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is very pleasing to know that you found the staff to be friendly. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the room's condition. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into and will also be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.
We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    73
    29
    5
    5
See reviews for
55
54
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

A clean, modern, 2 queens, room met all our expectations for a one night stay on our way to Seattle. Quick check-in, nice front desk staff; what more is there to add?! Well, maybe that it's conveniently located to the highway.

Counter on which breakfast is served is (more or less) located in a corner of the breakfast room, so it feels a bit cramped. However, breakfast itself is pretty good!

If you're 'self-microwave-catering', Target is less than 5 minutes away by car to get yourself a meal ....

Overall excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerfr0mH0lland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a king mini-suite. Very pleasant and comfortable. The mini-suite was spacious, the staff were very pleasant. Having the refrigerator and microwave is a plus. I would definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We had a mini suite on the end so it was very quiet, large, and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location. Sound transmission is not very insulated throughout the building. Otherwise, service and included breakfast was great. Room fully equipped with fridge, microwave and large flat panel TV. pool and fitness center well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear conscom,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that our location, accommodations and service you received were to your liking and contributed to making your stay that much more comfortable. My apologies for the inconvenience the noise has caused you. Rest assured that we will take your comments under consideration so they will help us become the best hotel we can be. We hope you give us the privilege to continue to serve you in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Spent a night here during vacation on our way south along the coast. We had an excellent stay, no complaints. Room was clean, bed was comfy, shower was great. Would stay again to be sure and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eslov, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It's your average HIE, not within walking distance from any eatery unless you like MickyD's.
I was there two nights one of which was a Friday night leading into Berry Dairy what ever.
Ask the front clerk if with my Diamond level I could check out a 1:00 pm.
She said no and if I'm not out I'll have to pay another night.
Never ever will I stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Ron S,

Thank you for your feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the service you received. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My partner and I were traveling up to Vancouver, BC to escape the 4th of July fireworks. We decided to breakup the drive north and visit Mt. Vernon. We had made reservations stating we were traveling with my service dog, that I required a quiet room,"not by the elevator or ice machine, no adjoining room door and not near any celebratory guests," please.

We went to bed at 10:30 only to be woken up at 1:20 AM by loud upstairs neighbors. I called but it continued that way till after 2:15 which is a long time if you are tired and got woken up thinking it was an earthquake.

Much to our surprise, we tried to sleep in, with our do not disturb sign on the door, when we find that are directly across form the hotel laundry room and the housekeeping staff was in full swing into loud laughter and gossip. No one appreciate a good laugh more than me but not when i'm sleepy.

Now, I understand that the hotel cannot fully control loud guest who come in late from bars but when one ASKS FOR A QUIET ROOM you do not put them across from a busy area like the hotel housekeeping and main laundry area!

This really sucked and I felt disrespected and not heard. The front dest manager was apologetic but nothing soothes disrupted sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaT3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear MariaT3,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced specifically with the noise. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Burlington
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Skagit Valley Inn and Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Burlington
2.1 mi away
Best Western College Way Inn
Best Western College Way Inn
#2 of 5 in Mount Vernon
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cocusa Motel
Cocusa Motel
#5 of 5 in Burlington
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington
Address: 900 Andis Road, Burlington, WA 98233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington, WA is located at exit 229 off I-5, minutes from Skagit Valley & Tulalip Casino's, outlets & shopping malls, Burlington/Mt. Vernon attractions, Skagit Speedway, WA State Ferry, whale watching, scenic San Juan Islands, Deception Pass, tulip fields, North Cascades Natl. Park, and the nearby cities of Mt. Vernon, Bellingham, LaConnor and Anacortes. This affordable Burlington hotel features an indoor pool, business center, fitness center and spacious rooms with microwave and refrigerator, plus several two-room suites and Jacuzzi suites! Businesses: Dri-Eaz, Paccar, Janicki, Sierra Pacific, Pacific Woodtech Corp, Shell & Tesoro Refineries, Puget Sound Energy, Nordic Tugs, Draper Valley Farms, Sakuma Brothers, Port Of Skagit County, and Transform. Hospitals: Skagit Valley Hospital, United General Hospital, and Skagit Valley Medical Center. Universities: Skagit Valley Community College. Retail: Seattle Premium Outlets, Prime Outlet Mall, Cascade Mall, Costco, and Home Depot. Attractions: Skagit Valley Casino, Northern Lights Casino, Tulalip Casino, Deception Pass, North Cascades National Park, Skagit Speedway, Riverfront Park, Tulip/berry fields, Seattle and Vancouver, BC. A credit card with proper ID is required for registration. Pets are not permitted on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Burlington
Holiday Inn Burlington
Burlington Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing