We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Made my skin crawl” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cocusa Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cocusa Motel to your Saves list
Cocusa Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   370 W. Rio Vista Ave., Burlington, WA 98233   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burlington
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made my skin crawl”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We made reservations after reading some reviews about this motel being clean & comfortable, I seriously question if the people that made these "clean" reviews had actually stayed here. At $100.00 a night I expected something decent, this place was bad. Filthy, ripped sheets & towels, cigarette burns in the blankets & a totally horrible experience. I'd spend twice as much to get a clean place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    11
    7
    17
See reviews for
11
19
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Whitecourt, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had it not been so late we would have kept on driving. Walking in to the room and finding it smelling like a boys locker room, then the dirty wash cloth hanging in the shower to the torn stained carpets, this place was flithy. Thankfully no bed bugs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Burlington hotels

Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The price was right but I wish I would have driven a little further to find a better place to stay. The tile floors and carpet were horribly dirty. I had to walk around in my shoes. The sheets had holes in the and the mattresses were pretty bad. I rate this overall as a 2.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanneCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Expectations are everything. If you are looking for an upscale vacation destination, you'll probably be disappointed, if however, you are looking for conveniently located, reasonably priced accommodations, this can work for you. Cocusa has seen its better days, and probably worse days as well. It's an older unit that appears to be getting better. The paint is fresh; the units surround a central courtyard with pleasant plantings and a swimming pool. Ground floor rooms have direct access to the courtyard from within their rooms. The motel is located just off I5, at the Burlington exit, It’s an easy in and out for I5 travelers; however, If you are west bound on HW 20, a U-turn will be required.

The lobby is clean and bright; a very pleasant desk attendant, along with an affordable room rate set the tone for a comfortable stay. The restaurant / bar next door were closed during my stay; however, restaurants of all types, from fast food, to up-scale steak houses are all within a 5 minute drive. A limited continental breakfast is provided each morning in the lobby; fruit, cereal, pastries, muffins, coffee and other beverages are available. ..

My handicap configured room included 2 queen sized beds, one hospital style with built in electric head elevation and a vibrator (no coins required), plus a second bed for family members or an attendant. There was complete wheel chair access to the bath room, sink and shower with proper hand rails on the back and side wall by the toilet.

The TV and other furnishing were old, but serviceable; a small fridge (about 2"X2") and microwave were provided; however, the fridge was on the floor and being small, was difficult to access.

The bottom line: You get more than you pay for, and I'll stay here again.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms have direct access to a very nice courtyard and swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rikerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

When u arrive on a derby weekend and large sporting event to Bellingham and all the hotels close to Bellingham airport are full, u may have to pick a place u usually wouldn't. It was cheap, the courtyard grass/pool area is actually very nice. The rooms are .... Well used. The rooms have all been smoked in so the smell.... Not fresh, and I'm not very good at limbo but the shower head being at a height of 5 feet really gives you an opportunity to practice. The staff and even the other guest were all very friendly so I'm trying to sell the good things. Go here as a place to sleep with no expectations and it should be ok

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godra76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just like the title says, the location is nice, howevere there is a point one must think of "when is it to cheap", I am not saying to spend hundreds each night for hotel rooms but when you do pay for your room, you expect it to be clean, and bright, which this place was not. I mentioned my issues by email the next day to the owner and they advised me I should have sayed somewhere else.

The breakfast was all prepackaged junk food.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aseretseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISSAQUAH
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I come to Skagit Valley for La Conner Workshops. Cocusa is the BEST place to stay. It is close, clean, reasonable highway access and the people have been delightful. All I want is a clean place to sleep with working plumbing and no drunken parties. Cocusa is luxury by these standards and the cost allows me more paint.

Room Tip: I'll pay attention this year and write a review after August 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobandana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlington
2.1 mi away
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
Tulip Inn Mt. Vernon
#3 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Skagit Valley Inn And Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Burlington
1.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Burlington
2.2 mi away
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
Days Inn Mt. Vernon
#5 of 5 in Mount Vernon
3.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocusa Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocusa Motel

Property: Cocusa Motel
Address: 370 W. Rio Vista Ave., Burlington, WA 98233
Location: United States > Washington > Burlington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cocusa Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cocusa Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocusa Hotel Burlington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing