We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Golden Star Chinese & American
Ranked #21 of 188 Restaurants in Bremerton
Cuisines: American, Asian, Chinese
Restaurant details
tahuya washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I use to go here when I was a child....single adult... I decided to stop by last week to see if it was the same...Yes.. Great food.. large portions..almost the same decor as 20 years ago.Glad we came in...next time we're in town I'll stop in again...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank krnlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Chinese food”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We like the cantonese style of Chinese food. They do a decent job but sometimes the food tastes like the just reheated it from the night before. The place is a little outdated and run down.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahuya, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“By far the best Chinese cuisine in town”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

The food is excellent, you must try the butter garlic chicken, it's great and the fried rice is the best I've ever had. I recommend the family dinner A, and if by chance your in to spirits and your not carfull the cocktails will have you crawling out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skattman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food for Miles”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We eat out at least once a day and were very disappointed in the Chinese food in Kitsap Co., until the manager of another restaurant told us about the Golden Star. What a life saver. The food is always delicious, plentiful and reasonably priced. The War Wanton Soup is a clear broth with a variety of veggies, shrimp, chicken, barb'qued pork slices and dumplings. Very healthy and lite. Their Lemon Chicken is made with chestnut flour to keep the batter crispy and they use fresh lemon slices in it. If you like shrimp and garlic, you'll love the Shrimp in Black Bean Sauce. For more delicate palates, their almond sub gum dishes with whichever meat you choose are exquisite. There is also an adjoining bar for those who like a cocktail or beer with their meal, but it is very much a family restaurant with a casual atmosphere.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 171Lem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahuya, Washington
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in Bremerton”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I eat out more than any person should so I have eaten at every resteraunt in this area, most on more than ten occasions and the Golden Star is by far the tastiest Chinese I have had. The only thing better was the Golden Star of the 70's and 80's. If cocktails tickle your fancy hit up the Star Room for some drinks that will have you crawling to a taxi cab.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skattman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Star Chinese & American also viewed

 

Been to Golden Star Chinese & American? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing