We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Bremerton
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Very cool

Hubby and I recently visited the ship and we had a nice time. There was some construction going on... read more

Reviewed January 5, 2020
ajzv88
,
Everett, Washington
More Museums Should Be Like This

Took the grandkids to tour the ship--it was fascinating for them. They couldn't get to enough of... read more

Reviewed November 17, 2019
jaybeeFL
,
Florida
Read all 275 reviews
  
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveler rating
186
66
20
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
186
66
20
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self guided tour turner joy engine room vietnam war gun turret piece of history main deck own pace great tour mess hall unique experience nooks and crannies museum ship answer questions post office sleeping quarters greater appreciation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 275 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2020

Hubby and I recently visited the ship and we had a nice time. There was some construction going on at the time so getting there was a small challenge, but we found it. We did the solo tour and there were all types of information available throughout the ship. It was cold and raining when we went, but we still had a great time. Would definitely recommend.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank ajzv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2019

Took the grandkids to tour the ship--it was fascinating for them. They couldn't get to enough of the nooks and crannies climbing up on the 3 man racks in the sleeping quarters, role playing a staff meeting in the Captain's conference room, chowing down on the chocolate cake in the crews' mess, manning the gun mounts and on and on!! Spent 2 full hours here and could have stayed longer.
There were a number of ex Navy men who provided excellent insights into the Turner Joy, her history and service record.
Definitely worth the time and modest entrance fee.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank jaybeeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2019

I've toured a few museum ships since separating from the Navy years ago and, in my opinion, this is one of the best opportunities to explore a US Navy vessel. On ships like the Battleship Wisconsin or Battleship Missouri, there is just so much of the ship you don't have access to. On the USS Turner Joy you can explore almost everything! I always want to go, into the engine room. In most museum ships you can't, at least not much. The audio stations make the self guided tour easy and fun for anyone that is in to these former navy ships. I loved the tour. We went on a week day in October. It wasn't crowded and we didn't feel pushed to keep moving. We could linger around as much as we wanted. Personnel around to ask questions that were very helpful. Take the pleasant 1 hour ferry ride from Seattle to Bremerton for this cool piece of history!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank WIfamilyof7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

Going through this ship feels like an adventure. To see as much as possible, you have to be comfortable going up and down iron ladders. There is a lot of history and explanatory text on the ship to read to increase understanding about the ship and what things are in there.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank gleefulexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

I took my three granddaughters , 9, 13 and 15...they enjoyed it and it opened their eyes to what it means to serve our country.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank capitolatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews