We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A piece of Naval history

A Vietnam war era Naval Destroyer ship that has been converted into a museum. The tour is self... read more

Reviewed October 23, 2018
Nostalgiyeah
,
Bellevue, Washington
A Fun Historic “Playground”

Yes the kids loved scoping out the stairs, passage ways, and windy places. The especially liked... read more

Reviewed October 13, 2018
SeesTheWorld5
,
Northfield, Minnesota
via mobile
Read all 253 reviews
  
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveler rating
172
61
17
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
61
17
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self guided tour turner joy engine room vietnam war gun turret steep stairs piece of history main deck great tour museum ship own pace nooks and crannies first hand navy life answer questions post office several levels
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 253 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2018

Three of us visited a few years ago. My sister was up from San Francisco with her husband and we went to the Turner Joy and Noah's ark both that day. The ship was empty. We were the only ones on it. Very very interesting and we were amazed at the condition the navy had kept it in. We went completely through it and even used all the flights of metal stairs. We took cute photos and got lots of exercise. The gift shop was nice too.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank CarolEaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017

We took our 7 & 9 year old grandkids, along with our son and daughter-in-law. All, including my wife and I, enjoyed the self-guided tour. Any kid will enjoy getting hands on all the hundredsof dials, cranks, etc. There were also some great old salt docents aboard to answer questions. You have virtually total access to all parts of the ship, including the big deck guns. The components are well-labeled, so you don't have to guess what you're seeing. Baby Boomers will appreciate some of the history of the Viet Nam conflict explained in parts of the ship and the explanation of the part this ship played. There is lots of ladder climbing involved, so much of the shp will be inaccessible to those with limited mobility.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017

It's a great way to spend a half an hour. Walk around and explore the ship. Well preserved with an interesting story. Definitely recommend it.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Bigskylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

Great museum ship for a self guided tour. The USS Turner Joy was one of the first Destroyer ships that took part in the Vietnam War. They are doing a great job restoring this ship. Just take your time and walk around and see the Commander's Quarters, as well as the enlisted racks, kitchen/dining area, engine room and other facts of the ship. There is also a small POW/MIA display. I learned a lot about what daily life was like for the men assigned aboard this ship. Great place for anyone interested in military history.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank AF_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile

Great for all ages. It was our second time to visit and just as fun!! And the weather was wonderful.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank AngeliqueDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews