We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of history”

USS Turner Joy Museum Ship
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Bremerton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Forest Grove, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little bit of history”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved the self-guided tour and also that there were people on board to answer any questions we had along the way. It was interesting to find out there are active service personnel living on board the vessel. It was amazing to get a little peek into the history of what sea life was like back then.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHappyTravelers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    48
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Interesting and well presented”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The USS Turner Joy is a Vietnam battleship, in fact the battleship that "started" the Vietnam conflict. I'll let you read whatever version of that history that rings true for you, but history aside, if you haven't been on a battleship lately, you won't want to miss the Turner Joy. You can wander the ship seeing the mess halls (one for the enlisted guys and a much finer one for the officers), the post office, the navigation equipment, damage control room (where they store the equipment to repair the ship if it gets hit), the sick bay and more. There are descriptions and explanations of each area. You could whizz through quickly and get the gist or spend hours exploring every detail. We had a great time there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank iclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A must see if you are in Bremerton!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was a great self led tour through history our 4 and 7 year old really enjoyed walking through the ship as well. A must see if you are near it is only open until 6pm, take about 2 hours to go through you really must see this fantastic ship.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank susie2275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Piece of History”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

While itbis not a huge retired aircraft carrier, the Turner Joy has it own history. It is set in a location with beautiful views and easy access from the ferries.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Banaltra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great old ship gracefully maintained”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I will start this review with the caveat that I may be a bit biased. I served on a Forrest Sherman class destroyer like the USS Turner Joy but with an ASW modification. So it was fun to show my two sons around this old beauty. One son is in the Navy now and was amazed at the amount of things that haven't changed in 50 years. But the cool things they have done on here is allow you access to almost everywhere, with viewing portals into the reduction gears, the boilers and other places, where most people never get to see. The ship is amazingly clean and well cared for. I highly recommend you spend a couple hours poking around this piece of American Naval history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS Turner Joy Museum Ship also viewed

 

Been to USS Turner Joy Museum Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing