We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of a real Navy ship”

USS Turner Joy Museum Ship
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Bremerton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
211 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Tour of a real Navy ship”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This ship was historic to the Korean War and offers a good insight to how a ship is set up and operates. A fun excursion especially with family.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank travelerwmmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    48
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“what a fun and unique thing to do!”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

just being able to roam around in the dark after closing time on an old destroyer with such history is awesome. the possibility of making contact with ghosts makes it even better. very spooky and exciting! it's a must-do.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank frances w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
“A unique and awesome experience, I can't wait to go back”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I've been ghost hunting and investigating anything paranormal for the last 5 years or so and surprisingly despite only a 3 people passing away on this battleship during its commission, all from a Vietnam War accident involving a misfire of one of the main guns, the vessel seems to have an inelegant haunting. Likely due to the sudden, violent, and unexpected nature of the deaths. Our experiences supported real-time communication with something able to control the lights on our K-2 EMF meter bringing the milligauss up to explainable levels on command or after a questioning/statements.... Whatever is here this place is worth the the time to absorb the historic energy present on the ship, as well as the marvels involved in its engineering despite is dated technology.... All this plus the best hospitality make you feel right at home on a battleship, not everyday that you get to experience that. The tour guides are also incredibly knowledgeable. A+++

-Dustin

ps - can't wait to review the rest of my data/evidence from my overnight stay, more supporting data is bound to surface.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dustin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
185 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We arrived in Bremerton the previous afternoon and were staying nextdoor at the Hampton Inn. I had checked at the gift shop where you pay for your admission to the ship to get the hours and find out if it would be appropriate for our 4-year-old grandson. They answered my questions and suggested that if we really wanted to have a great tour to ask if the curator was available for a private tour. We did so and, boy, did we get a great tour. Lots of explanations and stories, inside insights to everything. Our grandson liked the guns and climbing up and down the gangways the best of all. But he remained attentive and well-behaved throughout the more the almost 2-hour tour. Thanks for a memorable experience!

Helpful?
Thank oregonpoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Educational..enjoyed the retro of the tour.”
Reviewed July 24, 2010

My husband and I, with our 2 nieces visited this ship on a vacation to Seattle. My husband was the one who really wanted to see this, we weren't overly excited at first. The kids really enjoyed this tour. They got to climb all over the ship. The waterfront was really nice also. Lots of monuments. Would recommend this attraction, as a school field trip. Alot of history, and alot of respect for our Navy veterans goes into this tour.

Helpful?
Thank nurse2trucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed USS Turner Joy Museum Ship also viewed

 

Been to USS Turner Joy Museum Ship? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing