We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Dinner”
Review of Pierside Kitchen

Pierside Kitchen
Ranked #10 of 44 Restaurants in Blaine
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Pierside Kitchen serves breakfast, brunch and dinner and features fresh, seasonally inspired cuisine. Due to its seaside location and proximity to farms and ranches, diners will appreciate its emphasis on showcasing local and regional bounty available in abundance. Located on the pier, diners have expansive views of Drayton Harbor and the landscape of White Rock, BC in the distance. Upon entering Pierside Kitchen, guests will notice whitewashed, weathered wood siding and ceilings, metal pendant lights, as well as an expansive kitchen featuring a wood-fired oven used for a variety of dishes. Pierside Kitchen’s dining room seats 110 with patio seating in warm weather months accommodating 50. Pierside Kitchen’s private dining area may be reserved for up to 12 guests. Additional private dining options are available upon request for parties of more than 12. The restaurant is casual, sophisticated and approachable. This Semiahmoo dining experience is guaranteed to make the most of its seaside location and sense of history.
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The new restaurant is very nicely decorated, bright and airy. Beautiful ocean views.
The food was well presented. Delicious desserts.
Only problem was slow delivery of the food. The desserts were free as a result of this - not asked for but done because they were aware of the slowness.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    41
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“At last, Semiahmoo has the restaurant it deserves”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Pierside Kitchen is the long-awaited result of the renovation of the restaurant spaces by the Semiahmoo resort's new owners--and it was worth waiting for.

The new restaurant takes advantage of the spectacular waterfront views, but the food and service rival the view. The wood-fired halibut at dinner was perfectly done and served on a beautiful plate with artichokes, cherry tomatoes and olive tapenade. Many restaurants in the area serve fresh halibut but Pierside's version is so much more sophisticated. It would be at home in New York or Los Angeles.

A rhubarb tart with ginger ice cream was another delightful little creation that was as pleasing to the palate as it was to the eyes. Again, it was sophisticated AND tasty.

At lunch, steamed mussels in a Riesling and lemon broth was satisfying, the mussels fresh and moist. However, the broth was a bit too lemony for my taste. The Dungeness crab sliders were quite good, with honest crab meat (no filler) and sinfully good portobello mushroom fries. The homemade ice creams are imaginative flavors that please both adults and children.

The wine list has a nice focus on the Northwest, with some whites that get beyond the usual Chardonnays--though there are very good Chardonnays. We had a Chateau St. Michelle Indian Wells that paired nicely with the halibut at dinner. Prices are quite fair.

The room is bright, airy and open and the service is expert but not stuffy. Servers are friendly and the pacing is much better than at the old Semiahmoo restaurant, where you were never quite sure when your food might arrive. Servers generally had a good knowledge of the menu items.

This is a place that works both as a special-occasion dinner spot and as a casual place for lunch. This is--finally--the restaurant that this resort deserves.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeanpW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Custer, WA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“New redo at Semiahmoo”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The restaurants have reopened at Semiahmoo, one of the best places in Whatcom County for a drink and a bite. We tried the reopened restaurant in the old Packers Lounge about a year ago and it was very disappointing. Since then they have done a beautiful job of remodeling the former Packers Lounge and have completely redone the old banquet room next door. You now have two wonderful options for dining with a water view. The windows in Packers have been replaced so the view is wide open and not ruined by the grid of windows they had in there before.

The menu was varied, lots of fish, meat, salads. My friend had a lovely cob salad made with lots of crab and shrimp, many fresh veggies and a lovely Bibb lettuce base. I had a Tuna Nicoise salad made with seared Albacore tuna. It was deconstructed, beautifully arranged on my plate. It was good, but the price of $18 for a lunch item seemed steep.

We sat on the deck outside at the new restaurant, lovely sunny day with a view of White Rock, BC, Canada. My friend wanted the salad off of the other restaurant's menu, the server was very gracious and was able to put our order in for two different kitchens.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scotchman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good appetizer and good service.”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We ate at the "seated bar" surrounding the cooking area. It was very interesting watching the cooking staff and their method. I had an appetizer that was like a Pizza that was very good and the staff was very good in their service. We received everything we asked for regarding condiments and the like. I never felt like we were a burden or unwelcome. I had a good time. Others were seated at tables and probably received their food sooner, but it was not a problem because we were well attended for food and drinks. We were going to go to the Blue Heron grill, but it was a ways up the road an it was late. Overall, I'd try either place, but the experience there was very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, amazing service and great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had a special occasion that we wanted to celebrate with our family. From the moment we stepped in the restaurant we got nothing but the best service! Lindsay our waitress was great! She was friendly, great personality! The food and the service was amazing! The restaurant has a great ambiance and the decoration is very tasteful! I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone! The view from the restaurant is great! The prices were reasonable. They really go out of their way to give you the best service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evaw65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pierside Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing