We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm sure there are other places to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Worldmark Birch Bay
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sequim, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“I'm sure there are other places to stay.”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was our second stay at this Resort. We are not owners there but were on a timeshare swap. I've been told before that their owners always get preferential treatment. I had gone to great lengths to assure that we'd get a special needs room...no such luck. The toilets are so low, no hand bars to get up and in one bathroom the space was so narrow I had to remove the toilet roll to avoid hitting my elbow on it. Room needed a professional cleaning. Shower stall had fixture so high it only hit the top of my head (I'm not 6' tall) and no explanation of how to work their extremely difficult shower handles). First appearance is that the redecoration job a while back was lovely. Living room furniture all too low to get out of for us..maybe if you are in your 30's. Lots of noisey children. Since you can check in ANY day of the week, they were arriving daily (unfortunately near Spring Break time but these were al LITTLE kids) so all hyped up, squealing, running up and down elevator and corridors to pool and back, screaming and sequaling in pools all day long 8-10 AM...no adult hours as they said it would be "discrimination"..Workout gym is UPSTAIRS (no elevator) so getting there is a work out if you are planning to do any physical therapy. Make sure your room is not near the vent for the corridor a/c unless you are deaf. The bed was great but sheets didn't fit the king size bed.

Room Tip: Avoid room with a/c vent in corridor as we had high pitch fan sound for 24 hours until I figured out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi R, General Manager at Worldmark Birch Bay, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Ruth,

Thank you for sharing your experience at WorldMark Birch Bay. I am sorry we were unable to accommodate your request for a special needs unit as your reservation was made through a third party travel company over a year ago and we were full with Owner's and guests enjoying spring break by the time we realized you were not getting the room type you were expecting.

I appreciate your feedback in regards to the noise from other Owners and their children. We always want to make sure everyone is enjoying their stay and making sure that everyone is following policies and not being disruptive to other Owners. Thank you for bringing to our attention your thoughts on the bathroom fixtures, fitness center and the corridor fan, all great feedback to have to help us improve.

I would like to assure you we treat all guests that stay at our resort whether Owner’s, Guests of Owner’s or someone who has chosen to stay with us through another means with equal respect and service. We value everyone that comes to Birch Bay to enjoy their vacation and will do whatever we can to assist in making their experience a great one.

I hope you give us another opportunity and come back to visit. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Sandi Robb
Resort Manager
360-371-0880
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
43
26
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The stay was perfect for what we needed. Clean, comfortable, classy and functional- we wish we'd had more time!

The showers had great pressure (something strangely important to me), the kitchen was fully stocked and we love the private patio although the landscaping leaves something to be desired!

Great drinks across the street at Via during 'movie nite' and popped in to Shores for a quick brewski..... Rented movies and enjoyed watching next to the fireplace.

All around great experience!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmbNatBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandi R, General Manager at Worldmark Birch Bay, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Ambnatbro,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience at WorldMark Birch Bay. I'm so glad you enjoyed our great showers, private deck, fully stocked kitchen and local watering holes.

I hope you have the opportunity to come back soon as our landscaping is about to get under way. With all the rain we've had there is definitely a lot of standing water around.

With you being so close in proximity we hope to see you soon so you may enjoy more movies by our fireplace. Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,
Sandi Robb
360-371-0880
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here a few years ago and it was ok, but they have remodeled and I was pleasantly surprised. My Brother and I had a 1 bedroom that was large, well equipped and was set up perfectly for privacy. I had the bedroom with a comfortable Queen bed and my Brother had the Murphy Bed in the living room which he said was really nice. The bathroom is in the hall so it was easily assessable for both of us. There is a full kitchen with an island, a fireplace and large living room, and a balcony with a big propane BBQ that we grilled fresh salmon on. Wifi was $15 for the week for 2 devices. The location is convenient to Bellingham, Wa, Vancouver, BC, the Annacortes Wa State Ferries to the San Juan Islands, and to the East, the Mountains. It was March so we expected (and got some rain) but we didn't let that interfere with sightseeing. We explored Fairhaven, the San Juan Islands and the Olympic Peninsula as well as Blaine, Bellingham, and Lynden. I will definitely return and not hesitate to recommend Worldmark Birch Bay to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie M, Guest Relations Manager at Worldmark Birch Bay, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Chuck,

Thank you for the kind words. We are so happy your enjoyed out recent renovation and Birch Bay's convenient location as a jumping off point to Vacouver, B.C., Bellingham, and the surrounding area.

We appreciate you taking time to post your feedback, and look forward to your next visit to Birch Bay.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Not much to do there in the winter other than go shopping at the outlet stores, Costco/Winco & malls in nearby Bellingham area. Went there in early Dec. during a cold spell. Including wind chill, it was -20ish C and so not much to do other than stay in your rooms.

Wanted to use the pool & hottub my in-laws were telling us about but the hottub/whirlpool is outdoors & the pool is small & an indoor/outdoor set up so when the wind & weather is not cooperating, its too cold to use in the winter. Going to a "resort" without access to a nice pool is just a waste of time & money.

On the positive side, lots of places to sleep with 2 bedrooms & a big Murphy bed in the living room. Kitchen is good & well stocked with pots/pans & utensils.

Recommend going any other time than in the middle of winter.

Room Tip: Corner suite will give you view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Treated to a vacation here. Went with 3other adults and two kids. The kids had the best bed because they shared the Murphy bed in the living room. The mattresses on the beds in the bedroom are old and need replacing. The kitchen was well supplied and had an oven! Living area had couch, two comfy chairs, dinning table with four chairs, and a fireplace. Bedrooms small but adequate. Two full baths. Funest thing was the indoor/outdoor pool and outdoor jacuzzi. Building overlooks the water/beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrStuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Nice resort - felt like I was down at the Oregon coast for a bit. The property only has very few units - penthouse category that really has water front. They charge $5.95 /day for internet unless you are a platinum WM owner.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Altezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went in the fall, so it was off season and quieter. The condo was nicely decorated, well furnished and supplied, and very comfortable for 4 people. The location was right on the water. There are nice spots on the grounds that would be welcome retreats in warm months...little picnic and shaded sitting areas outdoors. Nice pools and hot tubs, etc. Staff was very helpful and friendly, even the housekeeping and maintenance staffs. Many cute towns and sights nearby, and Canada right at the doorstep. Biggest downside I could see was very few rooms have any type of a view...only a few face the water all the other rooms face a parking lot or (like ours) overlooked a trailer park.

Room Tip: If you want a view, you'll have to do some big negotiating....if you want quiet, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaine
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
#1 of 1 in Birch Bay
138 reviews
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
279 reviews
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
450 reviews
South Surrey
Best Western Peace Arch Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Worldmark Birch Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldmark Birch Bay

Property: Worldmark Birch Bay
Address: 4810 Beachcomber Dr, Blaine, WA 98230-6811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Blaine
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Worldmark Birch Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Otel and HotelQuickly so you can book your Worldmark Birch Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Birch Bay Hotel Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing