We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Semiahmoo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Semiahmoo Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Certificate of Excellence
SEATTLE
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great family getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We were a crowd of 10 who stayed the weekend at Semiahmoo, and everyone enjoyed their stay. Some of us golfed, so we took advantage of the stay-golf special of $158/night, which was quite a bargain. The non-golfers enjoyed walking by the water, or sitting in the "library," reading.

Although the resort is still in transition, they took good care of us. The restaurant situation is what's mostly in transition - we ate some meals in "Packers," the bar, and other meals in "Stars," which appears to be a temporary space (?) Who cares, the food was really delicious, and the servers friendly!

The spa area is nice, with the pool, hot tub, and other amenities. We did not bring our tennis rackets (this time!) but other groups were having a good time with it.

Our room faced the parking lot, but that was OK - it was very large, clean, and comfortable. We enjoyed having the Keurig coffeemaker in the room.

To sum up: we all enjoyed our stay, and would gladly go back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KDUB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear KDUB7

We are so pleased to hear that you and your family of 10 enjoyed the weekend with us at Semiahmoo. Golf, reading in the library, spa and health club, to name few that you have enjoyed.

It seems like you had the chance to have a preview of our upcoming restaurant and bar menu. We have launched the menu in our Seaview lounge9temporary bar/restaurant). This menu has been the talk and your feedback is validating the effort our culinary director and his team have been putting together to showcase the “poetry” in experiencing a nice meal at Semiahmoo.
You certainly listed many activities and amenities we offer here at the resort and guess what? There is more to come!
By the way, next time you return, you will not need to pack your tennis rackets, we have them ready for you to check out any time.
Your feedback on housekeeping is duly noted as well.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

Bring the family back soon, We are at your service!


Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    145
    49
    37
    20
See reviews for
131
248
21
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had a lovely stay after going to the tulip festival Great little over night get-a-way This was our 2nd stay at the property- the last time was nearly 9 years ago. That's the negative Nothing has changed-- however please note they are remodeling at present. Our room was very very dated Sad round plain tablecloth table with the glass over it and a sad swag scrolled curtain again very dated. Everything just looks fairly old like staying at my aunts guest room vs a nice resort. It is however kept up well - even though its older looking its very well kept up and clean-- and again they are remodeling. I am not sure if rooms will get the same touch up or not. If they do it would be nice to add a jacuzzi tub or something to set the rooms apart There would be plenty of room for one- or at least a soaking tub
My last negative is it is very loud. You can clearly hear others in the room next door and in the hallway, above you etc.
We upgraded to a deluxe room with a wonderful balcony which we thoroughly enjoyed watching the sunset and had or morning coffee there. Infact we got such nice weather we left our door open all night and enjoyed the sound of the water and the fresh air. (it helped the noise issue also)
The room is well appointed with lots of room, nice linens and bathrobes, and a Kureg coffee maker No fridge though which I thought was odd- there is plenty of room for one. It would have been very useful.
We didn't pack bathing suits be could have used the very nice outdoor pool and spa even in April its heated nicely.
All their restaurants are combined into 1 as of now as the remodel. Nice simple menu with something for everyone Thought their prices were very reasonable. We had good service at dinner but the hostess was one of the snobbiest persons I have met in a very long time. Again the dining area is very dated looking but its hard to say what it will be like soon.
We loved the grounds and took a long walk at sunset and the next am. They set up and area to make smores right on the beach - and they have a movie theater area and show 3 movies starting mid afternoon
We had room service breakfast which was very prompt and accurate Again reasonable also . Didn't love the food- mainly because they didn't list ingredients in the menu- (I have some light allergies and both things I ordered had things I couldn't eat yet they weren't described in the menu- but I should have asked I guess)
Overall I'd highly recommend the resort but maybe wait until after they remodel or certainly its not worth full price right now. We had a lovely time

Room Tip: Get a balcony We got a sale and upgraded when we got there- very happy we did Currently the remodel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysMissinHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest

We love your pictures!!
Thank you for sharing your experience with us via TripAdvisor.
Thank you also for choosing Semiahmoo as your destination. Your detailed posting really paint not only the tangible but the intangible part of your visit. Lots of improvement since your visit and now that we added new amenities and fully completed renovation and building of restaurant, bar and porte cachere. we look forward to your next visit.

It is time to escape at Semiahmoo again!

Best regards,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General manager
Semiahmoo resort golf and spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is a great resort in a FANTASTIC location. It is still under renovation, but there's little hassle or inconvenience. The rooms are nicely configured and the water views are incredible. Our bed was so comfortable, we're thinking of updating ours (Simmons - "Black").

We have been long-time fans of Packers, the Oyster-Bar Restaurant but it remains closed until re-built. For now, it operates out of the main building, but doesn't measure up to the old very high standard (in food, value, or service). But Tommy (manager) has the right attitude and promises to fix it as they work out the kinks.

The spa (massage) was expensive and thus of poor value, although the masseuse did a good job (you undress/dress in a locker room). We loved the fire at the beach with "s'mores" for all. And then there's the view... and all your troubles disappear.

Room Tip: Unless you want a balcony, any "water view" room will be great. Once the renovation is fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear RichVW

We enjoyed reading about your Semiahmoo experience. Thank you for your continued loyalty to Semiahmoo Resort and we are very pleased to have been the destination of choice. Our temporary location for Packers (the Seaview lounge) just launched the new menu and as the name indicate has a fantastic view.

Come back soon to enjoy the serenity and sample the new epicurean menu!
Best regards,

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have stayed here many times over the years, & love the cozy ambience. We are so pleased with what the new owners are doing with the resort, the new restaurant is terrific & has amazing sunset views. Our water view executive suite was spacious, the views gorgeous & our bed was heavenly. We requested a pack & play, which was set up & ready when we arrived. David Sullivan is an exceptional manager, he really went out of his way to make our stay exceptional. We found the entire staff to be very attentive, competent & friendly. Love all the fun things for guests like racquetball, tennis, ping pong & of course the pool & hot tub. The work out room is well equipped & there are bike rentals as well.
My husband enjoyed golfing, & my massage at the spa was wonderful! Our kids love the movie theatre, game room & most all the s'more station located at the fire pit near the ocean.
We enjoyed our stay in March so much we booked another stay for April (before we even checked out) to celebrate my husbands birthday & are bringing our friends & family with us!

Room Tip: Splurge & get a room with a water view on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Bbvan

We welcome your 5 on 5 rating!
Please know that we are so glad that your family gateway was “great”. It is always a thrill to learn from guest that they truly enjoyed everything about their stay but more than anything recognize associates that make the “stay exceptional”.
I will make sure to let our team know that you noticed their efforts and to make sure you have the best experience again and again.
We are as well awaiting that birthday celebration. It will be Semiahmoo style!

See you soon!


Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Exciting views, amazing food, and friendly staff makes this a resort you'll want to visit.

I loved the walk by the water with many various bird species. The spectacular sunsets could be
viewed from the dining room or the room's balcony. It is a resort you'll want to visit time after time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Anne

Thank you for choosing Semiahmoo resort as your seaside destination. I could not ask for a better description of this resort. Glad your experience was “extraordinary”.
On behalf of the entire resort team let me reiterate the gratitude for your posting on TripAdvisor and the great rating. We look forward to your next visit and catch more spectacular sunsets and gourmet food.

See you soon!

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We are from Vancouver and Blaine is only a short drive for across the US border, and yet we felt like we had travelled much further away from home (in a good way). The Semiahmoo resort has that Northwest cabin feel, which is cozy and warm. We found it well maintained with friendly staff and overall it was a relaxing experience. The JR Suite was large and comfortable and we had a view of the bay. We stayed only one night, but we will be back again soon for a longer stay. We had dinner in the restaurant and experienced a beautiful sunset while enjoying first class gourmet food at a good value. The Semiahmoo Resort is another hidden gem and one that we will visit again often.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Markru,

I truly appreciate all your kind comments and accolades. Certainly a posting that could be echoed.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay.
We look forward to you visiting the “hidden gem…” soon so you can provide us the privilege of serving you again.

My best,


Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

“Passing through months earlier and investigated your site. Spoke with Wendy Dahl and she sold me with her enthusiasm and told me of your "Radio" rate special so I planned then and there to make my next writers retreat with Semiahmoo. Glad I did. It was great and most productive. Well done also to a housekeeper named Dena and to servers named Gabrielle and Tommy. I will most certainly be back and have already told others to go visit you. Last but not least, Torrance at the front desk was outstanding!” See you again soon. Victor

Room Tip: Balcony water view rooms are sunset spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ousmane D, Assistant General Manager at Semiahmoo Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Victor,

Thank you for returning and this time to stay and experience Semiahmoo resort. With your excellent post on TripAdvisor, you certainly highlight one of the attributes of the location- Serenity.

It appears that serenity was not the only highlight, if you enjoyed the service provided by the staff from the front desk to the culinary team. The staff is our main asset and they strive to provide the service you experienced. I will certainly inform them of your accolades.

I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to write and post a review and look forward to seeing you soon along the one you rave our destination to.

Make us your escape!

Ousmane Diop
Assistant General Manager
Semiahmoo Resort Golf and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaine
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Surrey
Pacific Inn Resort and Conference Centre
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
#1 of 1 in Birch Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Semiahmoo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Semiahmoo Resort

Property: Semiahmoo Resort
Address: 9565 Semiahmoo Pkwy, Blaine, WA 98230-9326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Blaine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Blaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Semiahmoo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Spit between Semiahmoo Bay and Drayton Harbor-two hours North of Seattle and 45 minutes south of Vancouver-Semiahmoo Resort is a distinctive, regional destination retreat. Comfortable accommodations, amazing recreational choices, unexpected amenities and superb service bespeak Semiahmoo’s seaside hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Semiahmoo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing