We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
68
29
8
7
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
29
8
7
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews massage chair the cottages covered porch living room fire pit full kitchen coffee maker cabin accommodations pans linens
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 135 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2016

Okay, so full disclosure, I'm a total procrastinator and we stayed here almost a year ago. I was slightly apprehensive due to a couple bad reviews but we were pleasantly surprised after arriving. Everything was done via email and phone, and the management was totally understanding and helpful with our late arrival.

We stayed in the Brant Suite, which is a two-bedroom, and online showed a queen in one room and bunk beds in the second room. We were slightly disappointed that the second bedroom had a double bed rather than bunks (the teens were going to sleep there) but it wasn't much of an issue as one kid took the bedroom and the second kid took the futon in the living area. The other bedroom had just enough room to set up the PNP for our infant, and although it was a tight fit, we were all comfortable enough.

Most of our meals were out with the family we were visiting but it was nice having the kitchen for breakfast and formula for the baby. The one piece of advice I have here is that the kitchen is VERY basically stocked. You can definitely cook meals if desired but you may have to wash dishes a couple times and reuse items to get it done.

The most important factor to me in any lodging I choose is cleanliness, and it was definitely up to par. I was very pleased with how clean the entire suite was, especially the bathroom and kitchen!

Added bonuses, we loved having a patio area and the fact that we were mere steps to the beach!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talitha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake N, General Manager at Birch Bay Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Thanks for the review Talitha! we're glad to here you had a fantastic stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2016

We stayed in the eagles roost for the weekend. It was everything that we expected. I will come back. The fire place and soaker tub for two are the best features for a romantic getaway. The beach and the views are amazing. the kitchen was great for staying in and cooking.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake N, General Manager at Birch Bay Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2016

Wonderful Colin! We are pleased to hear you had a great time, we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2016 via mobile

We were harassed by their maintenance man for money and cigs. Banging on the cottage door demanding things. The next morn I got up to pack and was covered in bugs, bedbugs. All of our things are in sealed bags. There may be litigation involved. What a way to celebrate our anniversary right? Gross!! Stay away should be the name of this place

Date of stay: April 2016
8  Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake N, General Manager at Birch Bay Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2016

Obviously this is not representative of our typical reviews of others experiences here. We take these reviews very seriously and have consulted with the necessary the professionals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2016

We have stayed at the cottages at least a half a dozen times. The cottages are well maintained and the view of the bay from the Eagles Roost is spectacular. The beach is just a few feet from any of the cottages. The staff, Dave and Kenny are most hospitable and personable. We are planning a return visit in two months

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanLataE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake N, General Manager at Birch Bay Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2016

Dear Alan & Lata, We know you have several options to stay when you visit family here, we are thrilled that you have and that you have chosen to come back to us six times. You have a warm and wonderful family, we appreciated your positive feedback and will see you again in June!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2016

I rented one of the cottages as just a bedroom while attending a weekend guys party down the road, and ended up pleasantly surprised at how nice it was. The cottage I had was accessed by a walkway so was very quaint and away from the drag of road noise along the waterfront.

I think "funky" is the right word, but very clean and comfortable. The cottage was all wood paneled and functional. Even the full kitchen appliances were updated (which has not been the case with some vacation rentals I have been in costing 4X the amount!). This was a 2 bedroom unit, and also had a pull-out couch, all for just $89/night! Can't beat that, and if your idea of a fun vacation is Birch Bay, great option for a full family.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mjolinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jake N, General Manager at Birch Bay Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2016

We are so happy that the cottage exceeded your expectations! " Yes, "Funky " and "Eclectic" are common terms used terms. We are committed too keeping vacationing affordable and are glad you recognize the standard of quality we strive to maintain. We hope to see your group again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews