We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sandwiches on the border - Very Personal Service”
Review of Little Red Caboose Cafe - CLOSED

Little Red Caboose Cafe
Price range: $0 - $7
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Blaine, WA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches on the border - Very Personal Service”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

If size were the deteminant this would be a miss but stop in for the best offering of fresh sandwiches on the border. A real scrumtous treat.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank YawarMailku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    19
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Creative Space!”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This place is actually a little red caboose. The owners have transformed a rail car into a cute little cafe. The coffee drinks are tasty and the food menu has some unique flavours. I would certainly suggest this cafe for someone looking for a new and unique spin on cafes and sandwiches.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JD778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTER
Level 6 Contributor
672 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Cutest little cafe, with big flavors”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We saw the Little Red Caboose and thought it was so cute we had to go in there. However we found that the coffee drinks and food were so delicious we had to go back. It is small, about 4 tables inside and you may have to wait but it is worth it. I wished I had a great little place like that back home.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Travelbugsforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Shhhhhhhh!!!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Don't tell people how great this place is. As a local, this is our favourite place in town & a bunch of tourists will just make it harder to get a table. :)
It is small (more seating on the deck when the weather is nice) & there is one cook in a tiny kitchen. They do warn you that if you're in a hurry this may not be the place for you, so i don't feel they should be armed down for the relaxed vibe. If you have a large group, are in a hurry or want a vast menu this is not the place for you (I'd instead recommend Bob's Burgers & Brew at exit 270, 5 miles South of Blaine). The breakfast menu is somewhat limited but very good (bacon, eggs, French toast & great, spicy huevos rancheros). Lunch fare is panini & soup, but the sandwiches are so unique and flavourful there's sure to be something for everyone...(even some great vegetarian options). Their coffee is very good & their espresso drinks are the best in town. When the weather is nice, have lunch on the deck for a view of the harbour. Relaxing meal, great food & coffee, decent view in nicer weather....for about $20 for 2. So stop in & say hi to John & Kylie & see how we kick it local style.

...seriously, try the huevos rancheros.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pebbleinmyshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Cute and great food”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stopped here after our redeye flight into Bellingham and on our drive to Vancouver, B.C. It was a great find in a cute little town (Blaine, WA) right on the water. It was a bit foggy and drizzling that morning...I'm sure the view is much nicer on a sunny day. This place is tiny, 4 - 5 tables that seat two. They also have outdoor seating. The menu is limited, so if you're looking for a larger selection, this is not the place. We ordered the french toast (made with sourdough bread) which was delicious. We also had the scrambled eggs platter which came with multi grain toast and thick slices of bacon. The bacon and toast were great. The eggs seemed to have no seasoning. Added our own salt and pepper to take care of that...our guess is they make it this way for those with high blood pressure. The dishes were a bit pricey for what you get, but it was good quality good. The service is a bit slow, but not unbearable and they do mention that on a sign or two in the restaurant. We probably would choose some place with more choices next time.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelWithCameraHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing