We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My son says the best donuts ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocket Donuts

Rocket Donuts
Ranked #1 of 10 Bakeries in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My son says the best donuts ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The place is great. The décor wonderful. Great old sci-fi. including a life size Gort. Remember the phrase "Klaatu barada nikto". The donuts and service are very good. Also has locally made ice-cream.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susang48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    29
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Aussies on tour we stopped into Bellingham to have a look around and parked across the street from Rocket Donuts. Looked good so we decided to go in. nice donuts and coffee. very clean too.
bought a really well priced t-shirt as well. can recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Doughnuts done well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

With kids, it's hard not to stop at chocolate stores and pastry shops. Where doughnuts are involved, forget about it!

We stopped by Rocket 's mainly due to word of mouth and because of a great experience at Voodoo Doughnuts in Portland. While Rocket's was not Voodoo's, it was still a tasty diversion.

The doughnuts were fantastic! There was not the odd variety of Voodoo, but what they lacked in odd the wall variety, they made up for in taste! Delicious!

There are gluten free varieties and some other food allergy alternatives to compliment the regular bad-for-you choices too. The only negative I would say is that the fritters were a bit greasy. I like my food tasty, but this was a little much.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darlapita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Maple bars with bacon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This place rocks. I wish their smaller location on Samish Way still existed, because I loved to walk there from my house, but I guess it was a pretty lousy location for most folks.

The maple bars with bacon are my favorite of all time. If I have the choice, I never get donuts anywhere else. Their jelly donuts are also incredible! The apple fritters are tasty and big, but give me quite the stomachache, haha. This place is a fun outing to take your kids after swimming lessons or soccer practice, or have a quick breakfast date, or even take your science-fiction-loving uncle. They have a quirky atmosphere and are always playing old sci-fi movies on the TV's inside.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emiko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gluten-free donuts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

anyone who can't eat gluten knows that a gf donut is a treat. the gf donuts @ rocket donuts satisfy that craving with mouthwatering donuts that taste delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclectictrav_ler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocket Donuts also viewed

 

Been to Rocket Donuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing