We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The third choice was first-rate!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old World Deli

Old World Deli
Ranked #26 of 432 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The third choice was first-rate!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

After we'd struck out at two other Bellingham restaurants on a busy Saturday, we found this friendly, pleasant spot. Savory sandwiches (try the chicken pesto panini) served on crusty Italian bread - where the half portion was more than ample. Duck soup (really) with cannelloni beans and subtle flavorings was the stellar soup of the day. We rounded out our comfort food lunch with a house-made chewy chocolate chip cookie and a Jo's Salted Caramel Chocolate Graham. OWD also features plenty of provisions to tempt you to take something home: Wine, cheeses, Euro-groceries and more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Deli is great, wine dinners are awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I attended their wine dinner in November. It was informative,entertaining but more importantly, delicious. The wines they featured were not wines I would have normally picked out so it was a treat. The wine dinner has a limited seating and provides an intimate feeling. The food is served family style so there is no shortage of opportunities to get meet new people.
We frequent their deli about once a week, the upload photos of their specials menu to facebook.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“gourmet meats and cheeses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

I was looking for some good deli fixings to take home and this place was perfect. Copa, salumi, house made rillets, good funky smelling cheeses both local and imported, olives, etc. Super nice folks, too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 836chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The is no better place for a sandwich, soup or salad in Bellingham. They always have interesting specials. Service is great and fairly fast. Lots of variety. I have never been disappointed here. The price you pay here is worth it and some. I wish there were more restaurants in Bellingham that did it right like they do.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank raarstol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“MEAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I am always seeking a great sandwich but am most often disappointed by floppy or too thick bread, meager amounts of meat, and blobs of mayo. Finally my sandwich dreams have come true! I loved the atmosphere which is part basic deli part granola. Cheese and meat platter offered some great samples to nibble on too. Service is 4 only because it's a deli so no table service, but the staff were super friendly.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ba5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old World Deli also viewed

 

Been to Old World Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing