We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Halibut” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ivar's Seafood Bar

Ivar's Seafood Bar
Ranked #290 of 432 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Seafood, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Halibut”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Some of the best fish and chips of the trip.
I never miss and Ivar's when I visit Washington.
The food is always good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jere R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Ivar's is always busy at Bellis Fair, so I finally gave in and stopped by for lunch. The white clam chowder is pretty good. I enjoyed it very much. However, the fish n chips I ordered weren't as pleasant. The fish was dry, and it had that frozen seafood taste to it. The fries were ok, but I asked for crispy fries and they fell short. I would still drop by for some soup, but for anything else, I'd go elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lan98226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good for in a mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

You know, I haven't seen many seafood places in malls so I decided to give this place a try. I had the Alaska Paddock and it was pretty good. It tasted the same as what I was expecting. I don't see why people are complaining about this place, but yet again, this was my first time eating at Ivar's. I enjoyed my experience, but one minor thing that I would say they could improve on is faster service and bigger plates.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank oilersfan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
2 reviews
“A real let down.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

After a day of touring and shopping, my wife and I figured that we'd have a nice seafood feast. Wrong place to do this at!! Prices were average, but portions were minuscule! Felt like we were really putting out our server, which was quite insulting.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Well, they have Ivar's clam chowder which is fabulous. Otherwise, they are expensive, overly priced for what you are...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

Well, they have Ivar's clam chowder which is fabulous. Otherwise, they are expensive, overly priced for what you are getting. The food, other than the chowder, is not great.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ivar's Seafood Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ivar's Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing