We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Tasty small plates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Bar

Temple Bar
Ranked #73 of 424 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Serves Alcohol
Calif
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty small plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This small, somewhat quirky place had already been reviewed as having a talented cook/chef, so I checked it out last week during my one night jaunt up to Bellingham.
I copied a fellow bar guest, and ordered the goat cheese-stuffed, bacon-wrapped date bites, sitting atop a delish balsamic reduction, as well as the thickly sliced smoked salmon, served with seeded crackers, dill dip and a bit of dressed arugula.
Fearing I might still be hungry, I then ordered the polenta with wild mushrooms, which was unusually creamy, and though a bit salty, very tasty indeed. (I have been unable to obtain that level of creaminess when I have occasionally made polenta myself).
I took a piece of chocolate pecan pie to go, which turned out to be only average; perhaps because it was not as sweet as the usual recipe. Then again, I'm a master baker, so don't take my word for it.
The two servers I encountered were briskly efficient and friendly.
Overall, I believe this place is really worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zimmchiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cool, casual, creative concept!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

While it is smaller and a bit less crowded than its well-known neighbor, Bayou on Bay, this place is at least as good, if not better, for a casual drink, conversation, and gourmet eats in small, well-done doses. What they do, they do exceptionally well: craft cocktails, small plate bread/cheese, sandwich specials, desserts. We sampled several and found everything to be better than its description. Service was fast, professional. Outdoor seating for those who want to see and be seen, indoors is intimate, cozy. Perfect for couples or small groups.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeslaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Happy Hour in Bellingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Temple Bar has the best happy hour, in my opinion. My mom and I go here for happy hour and we share the cheese plate with a bottle of wine. It's an excellent value! Temple Bar is very relaxed and has indoor and outdoor seating and is in a great location downtown. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank libbidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great light lunch, cool vibe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stopped in for a light lunch and found it very enjoyable. Staff was quite personable, particularly the bartender/waiter. The food is primarily charcuterie, meats, cheeses, olives, cornichons, and fresh baguettes. The prix fixe lunch is a very good deal. We had the Panino No. 2, wth serrano ham, portobello mushroom, and oozing with Taleggio cheese. We also had the Everything plate; again the ingredients were top notch. The site itself is kind of funky, with old oak school desks and other old tables. This is a nice stop for a quick bite!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A small Gem in Bellingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Both of us wanted a very light dinner - and stumbled upon this little gem. For under $25 we were able to have two glasses of wine, and dinner! They offer $10 for a bottle of wine and cheese platter during their happy hour; but we opted for a Prawn Salad and a Panino. Both were incredibly delicious. The decor was, umm, different. High ceilings, pink; but very relaxed. People that worked there were upbeat and extremely helpful.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple Bar also viewed

 

Been to Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing