We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“the shack was demolished, years later resurrected as a restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shrimp Shack - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shrimp Shack
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the shack was demolished, years later resurrected as a restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I loved the old Shack, very fond memories there as a kid, the fresh market and the restaurant. it was a busy place. fastforward 20ish years and it was reimagined, it's prettier, probably more hygenic, but it lacks the heart it had - and the food is meh.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Slugbuglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“the old one is in the picture”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

the new one downtown is not nearly as fun as the old one was, great shrimp! I had a neighbor who loved it so much she took antihistamine before she ate it since she was allergic!

Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better stick with the mainline choices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The fish and chips are passable, the chowders are good, but generally the others items are cardboard tasting frozen seafood items quickly fried. We have been there several times, but will probably not return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willyum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A favorite of ours!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We love the chowders! Fish'n'chips & shrimp are yummy! It's got a family feel and we can get in and out or stay & visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Crisjoy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty Good, But Not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The fish and chips were good but not amazing. The chips were just generic fries. The halibut and cod were tasty, but not so memorable that we would go back if we were ever back in Bellingham. I am sure there is better fish and chips elsewhere. The tartar sauce and coleslaw was quite good. I had a cup of clam chowder and was not impressed.

I thought the service was excellent. The place was not quite open when we arrived but they invited us in anyway to get out of the rain. Our server was friendly and our food came out fast.

All in all, it isn't a bad place, but I think you can do better.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vjk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp Shack also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing