We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for specialty ingredients” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mediterranean Specialties Cafe

Mediterranean Specialties Cafe
Ranked #218 of 429 Restaurants in Bellingham
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Bellingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for specialty ingredients”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This neighborhood gem has a great selection of specialty Mediterranean ingredients and food items. The deli counter has a few tasty Greek items that can be purchased to go or eaten in a small seating area. Come for the shopping, stay for the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OneTrippyHippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place to get supplies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

They have a great assortment of Mediterranean deli items. Stuff hard to find, or impossible elsewhere around here. The pre-made foods are good, but not why I go there, not meant as a negative comment, I just don't very often. They are very nice people too. Spend time wandering around looking over things I want to learn more about and to use.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Mixed review on food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

My husband, daughter and I tried the Mediterranean Specialties Cafe recently. He and I had chicken gyros, which were disappointing. There was very little spicing to the chicken, although the tzatziki was good. My daughter had spanakopita, which was quite good, though nothing to rave about. Ditto the dolmades (grape leaves) which were good but not excellent. We were also disappointed that it is more a fast food place than a real cafe. The grocery section is interesting to look around in while you wait. All in all, we'll probably not go back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great deli run by nice people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I love to eat lunch here... My favorite is the falafel with baklava for desert.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Floody248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
460 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
“A GREAT spot for lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stopped in here for lunch while traveling. What a great lunch spot! The Panini and stuffed grape leaves were excellent! This place is great place to eat and a Mediterranean food store to boot with great wine specials. I'm so glad we stopped.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hatlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mediterranean Specialties Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mediterranean Specialties Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing