We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A great book store” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Book Fare Cafe

Book Fare Cafe
Ranked #58 of 424 Restaurants in Bellingham
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A great book store”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

This is a place to spend time reading excerpts of books that you put on your wish list. The staff are very knowledgeable and helpful. A great selection of history and children's books

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    8
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, BC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great bookstore with helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is an old fashioned bookstore, with lots of books, diverse selections, and many author events held regularly. I found suitable books for my nieces and interesting ones for my husband. It feels so refreshing to be in a bookstore like this, one that understands books and readers.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Burnabytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I can't imagine visiting Fairhaven and NOT at least browsing here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place is kind of an "anchor store" in the Fairhaven shopping district. It's cheerful. Staff is pleasant. Interesting selection of books and much more atmospheric than your local mall B&N. Cafe on the uper level is sunny, has great views and is a nice place to have a cup of tea, look at the water, and page through the book you might be considering. Internet service is spotty. (I finally had to give up and take my laptop to the cute old library a couple blocks away.) I liked how it opened onto adjacent businesses and the "village green" in the back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful independent bookstore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Fairhaven is so fortunate to have this bookstore. It is a place where you could spend hours. The knowledgable booksellers won't steer you wrong.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cantrelld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Gap, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I am a sucker for used books. I found one of the best used bookstores that I have seen in a long time. The staff encourages you to pull up a chair and read to your hearts content. A great time especially when it is raining. Fits in nicely to the Fairhaven District

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Book Fare Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Book Fare Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing