We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A legacy of Bellingham” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boomer's Drive In

Boomer's Drive In
Ranked #17 of 429 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: American, Fast Food, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Boomer’s Drive-In – Voted the Best Burger in Bellingham again & again!Great Food | Great Price | Great FunBoomer’s great food has been a local family favorite for decades. Our customers have enjoyed the same great menu of gourmet Boomers Burgers, world-famous waffle fries, real hard ice cream milkshakes, yummy hot dogs, fresh salads and old-fashion car hop service for years.Serving families in Bellingham since 1989, Boomer’s Drive-In has become a local icon. People who enjoyed Boomers as a child are now bringing their kids and grand kids to enjoy the same great food. Little about Boomers has changed over the years and we strive to keep it that way.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A legacy of Bellingham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I hope this drive-in never goes away. I wouldn't say it's the cheapest burger around, but it might be the tastiest. Get their meal deal and the waffle fries will guarantee that it's a full meal you won't come away hungry from. Their shakes are AMAZING. Old fashioned, thick and filling. This is the kind of place that makes you wish they had one in every major city just so you could spread the word of how awesome they are.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    67
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“how can you not love this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

However many drive in restaurants are left around this vast country, this place has to be one of the best. Grilled burgers, milk shakes, fries and onion rings. Nirvana! But that's not all, the entire drive in experience is still intact. Car hops on skates in the summer, a drive up awning dining space that encompases around 20 cars I think, prompt service, trays hangin' on your window, and a major throw back menu from a 50's road trip along Route 66. Wanna order, just flick on your headlights. Ready to leave, just do it again.

There's an indoor seating section with a fire pit as well as the drive in option. They serve the same great stuff as in the drive in portion, with less cholesterol laden menu items also available. Chicken burgers veggie burgers, salads, kids meals, and so many ice cream choices. As a further plus, it's also easy on the pocket book. Very hard place to beat when the sun is shining. TA has this as the # 12 eating establishment in Bellingham, but in my book, it's in the top 5.

A great place to park the convertible and hang for a while.
5 stars totally.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve9631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great burgers, waffle fries and shakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I enjoy a visit to Boomer's for a quick burger. Kids meals are served in a paperboard car that you can take home with you, and have a tootsie roll pop....but I've found out I would prefer the adult menu options instead of the kids meal options, even though the car is pretty cool. My favorite mea right now is a the Baby Boomer burger, it is messy with everything on it. Order it with waffle fries and a drink and you have the perfect meal. In Jan/Feb they have their Anniversary special, where all burgers are $2.99. A great deal, but it is always super crowded, so we usually avoid it during this time and come back when the special is over and the crowds are less. The everyday prices are reasonable- the baby boomer burger is only $2.99 regular priced. My mom usually gets the Teriyaki Chicken burger, which is similar to the Red Robin version if you are familiar with that, but at about half of the price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 9yearoldcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, WA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great Old Fashioned Burger Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We loved it. Lot's of charm and old fashioned atmosphere. Drive up and review the menu outside your window. When you're ready put on your headlights and help comes a running'. A short time later your food is delivered on a tray they hang on your window. The burgers were great. I had the Mushroom-Swiss, my wife the boomer with cheese and my daughter devoured a couple corn-dogs. We supplemented that with waffle fries, onion rings, a chocolate shake and to save on a few calories a diet pepsi. Everything was tasty, hot and good for you (okay, that's a stretch). If you're in the area and want a burger this place is worth a visi

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill_from_Washington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
“When comes Boomer to Europe?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My brother visited Boomer last year and always every time we visted here in Holland a fast food restaurant he always talk about Boomer and Boomer and Boomer.....there;s nothing better than Boomer in Bellingham.....
Please open a Boomer driver in Holland, so we can eat and enjoy your food, and he keeps his mouth shut quietly.
I've never eaten at Boomer, but I love it already........

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manuel_Dutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boomer's Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing