We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Interesting flavors- although not always the best tasting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mallard Ice Cream & Cafe

Mallard Ice Cream & Cafe
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting flavors- although not always the best tasting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I applaud Mallard's for their creativity in coming up with unusual flavors, but I usually find the taste a bit diluted. I'm usually really excited to go in but a bit disappointed by the actual product.

It's still a fun place and a treat after a dinner downtown - I just wish the ice cream had a bit more flavor.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rbortner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    65
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Niece and I enjoyed our ice cream.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's tucked away and a little hard to get to but it was worth the trip. Parking meters were a hassle. They have really good ice cream and lots of flavors to choose from. You can have it in a sundae with anything you can think of on top. Very busy even in the middle of the day so that tells you the place is good. I'd recommend you stop in for your favorite flavor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scratchgolfer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding home made ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

There is nothing not to like about this Bellingham landmark. They make their own ice cream, in a wide and ever changing palate of flavors. One of the best ice creams I have had anywhere. Nice ambience as well, with both indoor and outdoor seating, and takeout options.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank binati0nal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stop in Downtown B'ham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stopped here with our 3 boys (ages 15, 12, and 9) - perfect break after a long hike. Great homemade ice cream flavors. Large area with open windows onto a nice street in downtown Bellingham.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueScotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Basil, coconut with chocolate chunks, peppermint, fresh apricot and cream, blackberry cheesecake, all fantastic! Other flavors and dairy free options. Flavors change as do the fresh local options are available. Only wish there were better seating options but there is still plenty of room. A must go downtown.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank riflemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallard Ice Cream & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mallard Ice Cream & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing