We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great saag paneer!”

India Grill Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #46 of 451 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great saag paneer!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I can't believe the vicious reviews. I have been going to this restaurant for years. The quality is always excellent. Regarding the buffet, it's always better to show up early on when the selections are just put out.

The chili sauce they make is their own and quite delicious and fresh. They also always have delicious raita and rice pudding. The owners and their family are the service and they are always courteous and lovely.

The best way to enjoy the restaurant is to order from the menu, of course. There is a huge variety. I have never found anything I didn't like.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shaw G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    2
    3
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Bc
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worst Indian food I've had”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I should have checked trip advisor first, but this place was the closest to where we were. We went for lunch and decided on the buffet with an order of vegetable pakora. There weren't a lot of options and the food was luke warm. There were only two naan pieces left. The rice was so-so, but there were some pieces that were dried out. The mixed vegetables were ok and the dhal and spinach / chana masala dish were so-so. I waited for 5-10 minutes for some more naan to come out, and when it did it was like they opened a bag from the day old section at the grocery store and dumped it into the container. It was cold, doughy, and had no flavour, and there was only 5 or 6 1/4 pieces and 5 people waiting for it. The pakora was barely warm, even though we ordered it fresh and had no flavour. Service was mediocre, and when the waiter asked how the food was I said I've had a lot better and he just smiled and said yeah I know...
I will stick to the places that I know, or places that have more good reviews than bad.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rh1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bland, boring, no color, not fresh...save your money and seek elsewhere”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

While I've been to northern India as a volunteer, I am no expert on Indian food. However, I have eaten at dozens of Indian establishments in the U.S. and this is probably one of the worst places, if not THE worst. The food has no color, no flavor. Bland. The buffet was approximately 5-6 items which 2-3 of the items were variations of the same thing (watery lentils, watery lentil soup-like curry, watery soupy lentils and potatoes etc..). Save your money, better off eating tacos, or anything else.
The owner was not friendly and seemed completely jaded about customers as if they were just walking pocket books (note the restaurant was empty, and now I know why).
Avoid this place if you want anything fresh, colorful or anything flavorful...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank guepardo_lento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian Food”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were surprised to find the India Grill at the food court of the Bellis Fair mall. There seemed to be a fair amount of vegetarian and non-veg choices. We ate during the opera movie intermission.
Although a typical lunchtime Indian buffet might have more choices, this meal was completely satisfactory. Portions were large enough that we couldn't finish everything. Then just this week we found the India Grill at the local Fairhaven Farner's Market. It looked great, too. I've been to India six times and love Indian Vegetarian food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I love Indian food and have heard mixed reviews about this place so I decided to try it. I ordered the mixed grill with rice. All of the meat tasted exactly the same and it was a very weird texture, like it had been cooked for way to long or it was old. 2 types of chicken, a shrimp and lamb were included and they all tasted like very gamey lamb. I only had 1 or 2 bites of each and I could not eat anymore. Even the rice was bad. I don't know how you mess up rice, but it had the weirdest taste and I could not eat that either. The only thing that was somewhat decent were the samosas, but at best, they were "ok." I have had MUCH better samosas elsewhere.
The restaurant itself is also disgusting. It's old and run down and does not look clean. I will not be going here again and I do not recommend you do either!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Grill Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to India Grill Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing