We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great pasta, solid value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of D'anna's Cafe Italiano

D'anna's Cafe Italiano
Ranked #2 of 426 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle
Level Contributor
133 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great pasta, solid value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Based on the great reviews, we went for an early Friday night dinner at D'Anna's and were very happy with our choice. Their pasta dishes lived up to the reviews - pasta is fresh and cooked al dente.

We enjoyed the Caesar salad, the scampi appetizer (loaded with garlic in a tasty sauce), the ravioli appetizer, and a pesto pasta dish. We also tried a sausage pasta dish that was a little less interesting - not a lot of flavor and the sausage chunks were dry. Bread served with meal is a bit dry but great for dipping in the sauces.

Oddly, D'Anna's doesn't have a prominent street sign to call out its location. We almost walked right past the entrance, but the street address is correct.

Overall an enjoyable dinner with pleasant staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristeSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    130
    30
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plano
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freshness you can taste!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Every dish ordered was freshly made and with the freshest ingredients. The waitstaff was welcoming and helpful. We felt like family!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AllThoseCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I've been to D'Anna's three times in the last two weeks! The service is great, the food is AMAZING. Get the duck with cherry. The bread starter is delicious. Overall, the whole place is an absolute winner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank melonfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I love everything about this little place. The service has always been excellent even when I''ve been in a large group. The atmosphere is simple, casual, inviting. The pasta is always excellent. The Chicken Piccata is one of my all time favorites as well as the Aglio E Olio. The Puttanesca has just the right amount of heat. And I'm pretty certain the pesto is the best I've ever had anywhere. Great happy hour menu too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OneTrippyHippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Real Thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

D'anna's Cafe is a real New York type Italian cafe. The owners came West with their family recipes and do a fabulous job! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'anna's Cafe Italiano also viewed

 

Been to D'anna's Cafe Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing