We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Real Thing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'anna's Cafe Italiano

D'anna's Cafe Italiano
Ranked #3 of 432 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Real Thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

D'anna's Cafe is a real New York type Italian cafe. The owners came West with their family recipes and do a fabulous job! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    134
    33
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love the homemade ravioli”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Locals place. We go here when we are up for butternut squash ravioli or one of their others. Lots of focaccia bread is served. Very busy on the weekends. Outside tables during the summer. Lunch too...have never had a bad meal here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedWar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Place to go for charm and good italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Downtown location you need to search it out. Great relaxed atmosphere, good for families. Excellent service. The raviolli sampler was delicious but order the small size and ministrone soup was tasty. 4 adults and one 9 year old each enjoyed the meal. No complaints. We took home three cartons of food so portion sizes are big. Price is moderate and a good value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jethro34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay American Italian Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

First is that they give you lots and lots of bread (Focaccia). It was in the appetizer and a few of our entrees. Seafood was good. Decent clam sauce. However, the rest of the meal was mediocre. Lots of cheese on everything. Their pasta sauces were very bland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dungster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good dishes, fair dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Overall I like D'anna's. Had some good meals there over the years. The gnocchi and the ravioli dishes I think are their strong suite. Also, some of the chicken dishes are very good. I tend to stay away from the "baked" items such as the lasagna and manicotti are just flat and very dry, not really very good in my opinion.

Also, if they are somewhat to very busy..... go somewhere else unless you have great patience and time to kill. While the service has improved greatly in the last few years food can take a very, very long time if their busy. Which is actually a good thing because they are actually cooking not reheating. We actually stopped going there for a few years when they first opened, but the service is much better now.

My comments are not meant to steer you away, just so you know what to expect.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D'anna's Cafe Italiano also viewed

 

Been to D'anna's Cafe Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing