We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freshest Italian Food”

D'anna's Cafe Italiano
Ranked #5 of 487 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This restaurant is the best Italian restaurant I have ever eaten at. They make all their pasta fresh daily. They also have a killer bread made from scratch daily. When you walk in you know your in for a treat. We have never been disappointed at this place. We have had many different ravioli, spaghetti, lasagna, gnocchi. Their meatballs are huge and the texture of them is the best. The atmosphere is very good, so is the wine. You cannot go wrong with this place. Always a treat to eat here. Very friendly staff also. They can get very busy, but they always give great service. When in Bellingham, WA. check them out, you will not be disappointed.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 473 of 562 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We always check Trip advisor when travelling to unfamiliar areas. We have always been delighted with our choices but this time not so much. I ordered the Dungeness crab ravioli and my husband ordered the Dungeness crab linguini. The ravioli was kind of tough and the crab tasted like it was canned. Not impressed. My husband's linguini was better but not great. The service was good but we will not go back. The food was mediocre at best.

Thank Marni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincento, Manager at D'anna's Cafe Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

We are very sorry you did not like your Crab ravioli at our restaurant. You are the first complaint we have had about this entree. The dungeness crab we use is as fresh of crab that we can buy from our distributor and we pay top dollar for it. (we will double check the quality of it). We are sorry you will not give us a second chance being that our menu is very extensive with many other options. Your criticism is very important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Great pasta, they make it there too. Price is pretty average. Around 13$ per plate. Good atmosphere and local:)

Date of visit: July 2012
Thank guenthj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Delicious homemade pastas and sauces in a delightful setting. This was my first visit. The place was packed, and service was fast and efficient.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

What would otherwise be a superb dining experience, was considerably less so because this place poorly manages its "waiting to be seated" customers and allows them to spill into the dining areas. How can anyone enjoy their dinner when people are standing with their butts, strong perfumes, and restless kids up to your table while they are waiting. I suppose the plus side to this is that this place draws a crowd because obviously it serves great food, but if you're seated at any of several tables near the entry, expect to share your table with guests and waitstaff negotiating their way around each other within inches of your table. Really unpleasant. D'annas needs to place barriers to decidedly separate the waiting guests from the seated guests. Our server was average---but might have been better had he not had to fight his way to our table. If I were rating D'annas on the food alone I'd give it 4+ stars.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cascadefirechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincento, Manager at D'anna's Cafe Italiano, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

We are extremely sorry for your bad experience at our restaurant. On busy nights sometimes it is beyond our control of our waiting situation. If anyone is unhappy with their seating situation they can let our server know and we will gladly move you to another table as best we can. Thank you so much for your critique.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to D'anna's Cafe Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing