We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Breakfast and Baked Good Galore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Bakery Cafe

Mount Bakery Cafe
Ranked #14 of 425 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Mount Bakery is a bakery, cafe, creperie and restaurant serving award winning pastries and desserts, Bellingham's Best Benedict, scratch made soups, quiches, and lunch specials daily AND full menu plus dinner specials Wednesday through Saturdays. We are also now open at a second location - Mount Bakery Fairhaven - at 1217 Harris Avenue in the Historic Fairhaven district of Bellingham! Come to our Fairhaven neighborhood location to watch our famed bakers work while enjoying quiche, soup, pastries, fabulous cakes, espresso and more!
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Baked Good Galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This little spot is constantly kicking out delicious dishes. The dishes are nicely done. This isn’t your average breakfast spot. The specials are something to watch for too. Don’t miss taking something from the dessert case to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    46
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Little Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Checked this place out last Saturday and quite enjoyed the atmosphere. It's a small place seating maybe 40 people in a very simple but comfy atmosphere.

We both started with coffees, a latte for me and a cappuccino for my lady, and both were exceptionally good. We also both chose to try their self professed Bellingham's Best Eggs Benny. Well I haven't had any others in Bellingham apart from home made so i can't confirm whether they are the best but I can tell you this.

When the plates arrived there appeared to be very few roasted potatoes. Yes, roasted and that's a good thing. Upon closer examination, the majority of potatoes were underneath the waffle upon which the eggs were laid. Yes, a waffle. Freshly made! Unique and quite pleasing! The sauce on top of the eggs was generously peppered with bright red paprika which made for a very nice presentation overall. I'm not certain of the purpose of the waffle on top of the potatoes but it did add to the presentation by providing height to the plate.

In terms of taste, I thought the sauce was quite good and I am fussy. I will say it could have been better for me had it had a little more tang or zest to it. The eggs were cooked perfectly, the waffle was delicious, and the roasted potatoes were wonderful.

So I suppose at this point, they are the best eggs benny I have had in Bellingham :) We will definitely be going back to try some of their other breakfast offerings!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LTimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Great eggs benedict dish and coffee to be fortified for day of hiking on Mount Baker. You can get your lunch sandwich and pastries to go as well!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JWCFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“My kind of place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had lunch one day and liked it so much we went back for breakfast the next day. Everything is made there and it is delicious. We had turkey crepes for lunch and were impressed. When we came back for breakfast we tried the Belgian waffle with a berry and rhubarb compote. Very good. The staff was friendly and the service was good. The coffee was good too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieLassie116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were surprised at the breakfast menu and unsure if everything will taste as the menu suggested, believe you me it does. Service is friendly the biggest plus is everything in shelf is baked by their in house bakery and not provided by a random supplier. Our 5 year old had a croissant on the side besides sharing our breakfast and she loved it which itself was a big tick.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Punit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mount Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing