We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food LOUD crowd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Bread & Deli

Avenue Bread & Deli
Ranked #85 of 423 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Soups, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Description: We've been voted Bellingham's Best Sandwich for over ten years in a row, and there's good reason for this. We start with our fresh-baked bread (Focaccia, Rosemary, Mulitigrain, Ciabatta, just to name a few...), Add lots of tasty veggies, and all-natural meats (if you're into that sort of thing- if not, we have lots of vegetarian options), finish with great homemade spreads, and present you a gourmet sandwich fit for royalty. Special to our Railroad cafe are our flats, our take on pizza, and our grinders.
Kelso, Washington
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food LOUD crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The food was exceptional with plenty of healthy choices. I had soup, a sandwich with some chips. Self serve water, and seat yourself tables. The place was PACKED, so I figured the food must be good! The only downfall was that it was SO LOUD...between the screaming fit-throwing toddlers, and the other people trying to yell over each other. Hint: maybe try and get there earlier in the day or later than noon!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cskerbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent bread, sandwiches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great place for a gourmet sandwich lunch. They have a variety of hot/cold sandwich options, as well as flat bread pizzas and sweet baked goods. The freshly baked bread is nice to take home, too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjp103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where the bread and road meet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Can you imagine the smells roaming out doors, cracks and crevices as you walk down a street in Bellingham, either on James Street, Railroad Ave or in Fairhaven, that warm you with that homemade bread smell...? There are aromas of soups, sausage, bacon and a sweetness of fresh veggies with nary a greasy scent around. That's the place Avenue Bread is, but there is more...the atmosphere is suited to each of the unique locations in Bellingham and you can actually carry on conversations! The staff are pleasant, not pushy, and show a genuine care to be working and serving others. As far as beverages go, it is the usual selection with a local flare, and all is affordable. So next time you need a break from walking, stop in and be refreshed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank purpleangel135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really great sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Love the Eggenues & their rosemary bread is excellent. Great sandwich combos. Also good coffee drinks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank locavoreNWWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
friday harbor
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wish i lived closer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stopped by the James Street location for quick breakfast to go, and immediately felt comfortable there. First time customer, staff very warm and friendly, warm vibe to the place and the breakfast sandwich was the best ever on homemade rosemary English muffins! I can't wait to go back and order more stuff, wish I lived I the neighborhood.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank orenpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue Bread & Deli also viewed

 

Been to Avenue Bread & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing