We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place if you have $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Baker Theatre

Mount Baker Theatre
Ranked #8 of 77 things to do in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place if you have $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a beautiful old theater that showed the best movies in the "old days". It has become a venue for events: ballet, musical productions, special entertainers etc. Though the Edgemour crowd likes to dress up and be seen, the rabble can no longer attend. Too bad. Too sad.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    26
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bellingham, wa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming and Entertaining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Mount Baker Theatre works so hard to bring a variety of entertainment to our little city of Bellingham! We love the Warren Miller Ski Films and the musicals as well as live musical performances in many genres like jazz, classical etc. We are so lucky to have such a charming theater in our city.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank robin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mount Baker Theater- all it could be?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Mount Baker Theater in Bellingham, Washington is a very nice venue for particular types of events. The theater itself has a certain antique beauty, particularly the interior. But for whatever reason, events booked by the managers are often uninspiring to me (to want to attend), and the ticket prices and fees are often on the high side for a lower middle class town like Bellingham and Whatcom County. We have seen many shows at the MBT and most have been very good to extraordinary. But we spend a lot more time being entertained in Seattle where we can get better deals on ticket prices and the range of events is compelling enough to drive the 90 miles.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful - but expensive - theater with very interesting quality programs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The Mt Baker Theatre is an exquisitely maintained and professionally operated Art Deco era community theater venue that attracts many high-end productions, top-name performers, and widely varied programs. Programs are scheduled year-round, including Broadway musicals, symphonies, pop-artists, dance theater, comedy, and many others. Quality is consistently high, but so are the generally high-end prices. An amazing venue for our small city

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank sho1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovingly maintained 1920s Art Deco theater, wish the offerings were better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a magnificent lovingly restored 1927 Art Deco theater with seating for 1,500 persons. It is owned by the City of Bellingham, but managed by a not-for-profit organization.

Although it has some nice offerings, they tend to be pricey, and -- for my taste -- too high a proportion of "tribute" bands and other Baby Boomer nostalgia trips.

But when you do find something worthwhile, you could hardly ask for a better ambience.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank binati0nal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Baker Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Mount Baker Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing