We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, comfy beds and perfect location.”
Review of Bay City Motor Inn

Bay City Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay City Motor Inn
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Olympia, Washington
1 review
“Great value, comfy beds and perfect location.”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Bellingham is the perfect weekend getaway and this hotel was perfect for our budget. We were able to access our favorite parks and restaurants with a quick drive to either downtown or fairhaven. The hotel was quiet, had a really comfortable bed, clean bathroom and friendly service. Free internet!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffanyscroggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    18
    10
    13
See reviews for
33
16
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2011

My son and I stayed here recently prior to a visit to Western Washington University (5 minutes away). Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the shower was nice and tall for those of us over 5'10". The owner brought out food for us even though we were late for the continental breakfast, and stayed to chat about the City of Bellingham and his family.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollegeMom98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I have stayed at the Bay City Motor Inn at least three times. It is where I go when I want to run away from home for a couple of days. It is located close to the freeway and easy access to downtown. The rooms are clean and comfortable, easy internet access, good exercise room, terrific owners / staff and affordable. The sleep quality was my own personal problem not the inns.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phyllisstearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2011

I stayed at Bay City Motor Inn for several weeks and would definitely recommend this if you need a good place to stay in Bellingham. It's family run, and they are helpful and friendly above and beyond the call of duty. The rooms are very QUIET - you don't hear your neighbors. It's clean, comfortable and close to everything. Good food, gas and freeway on/off ramps are close by. The motel offers complimentary breakfast and coffee, (there's also a coffee kiosk next door, if you like a hearty morning brew), and the rooms have fridge & microwave if you want to stay in. I would certainly stay here again, and send my thanks to the folks at Bay City Motor Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Good value, comfortable beds & bedding, everything clean and in working order, friendly staff & management

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfCircle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, WA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This place is right next door to a very slightly more expensive but probably slightly better choice for someone who can spend a few more bucks, the Coachman Inn. Both are clearly for the budget traveler, and these two Western parents were happy at both. (Great access, or as good as it gets, to the Ridge dormitory complex. ) Bay City has friendly people and a good heater that we could run all night to screen out noise. Wifi worked well. The breakfast is a couple cereal choices and Costco muffins, though. Pillows were a bit too big, mattress a bit too soft. But if the Coachman is booked up, as it was this weekend, Bay City is a great choice. And for saving a few bucks, there's nothing wrong with it for starters.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Well-supervised property with eager-to-please owner/operator who runs a tight ship. Handiest location in town. Tons of motels on Samish Way but this is the best value. Great secure parking behind the building. Walk to fast food, IHOP or large up-scale grocery.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dukesjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#19 of 26 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Orca Inn
Orca Inn
#21 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay City Motor Inn

Property: Bay City Motor Inn
Address: 116 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-6029
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay City Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Bay City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay City Motor Hotel Bellingham
Bay City Hotel
Bay City Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing