We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great park...but not for dogs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Padden Park

Lake Padden Park
Ranked #4 of 81 things to do in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 900 acre park offers several miles of walking and biking trails.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great park...but not for dogs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

I took my kids and now my grandkids to this park. It is a lovely park for playing, running/walking and swimming. Lat spring I thought I would take our puppy there and he had a great time. Unfortunitly he drank some of the water from the lake and ended up with a bacterial infection. The vet asked where we had been and said it that Paddon was not a good place to take any animals. Now I know and so do you.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank wolfcall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    57
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place for gatherings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a really nice, family-gathering kind of place. Plenty of room for picnics. The off-leash dog area is maybe a little too much like a vacant lot, but in general the park is dog friendly. Dogs can even go for a swim in a special dog swimming area. The upper trails are wonderful, if a bit strenuous.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barbara946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Golf here! wide fairways, good course.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Excellent golf course at the lake. I didn't use any of the other recreational facilities. The course is wide, not overwhelmed with bunkers and water hazzards. I am a beginning golfer and simply loved every hole.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TomLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“One of the best places for a walk in Bellingham - or picnic! Or quiet kayak paddle!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I love, love, love walking around Lake Padden with my mother. It's such a lovely, peaceful place. Great for seeing birds, picnicing or having a wave-free kayak paddle. Highly recommended! Oh - I see lots of bicyclists there too - so it must be a good place to ride. And I've horseback ridden there - great for that too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice park with great open space for those of us who are park flyers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

I am an RC plane pilot, and I like to fly my 4ft and smaller planes at local parks. I happened to bring one of them with me to Bellingham and took it out to Padden park.
At the end of the park there is a big sports field, with a decent opening over the lake and the tall trees keep the wind to a minimum. Float planes should do well on the lake as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Padden Park also viewed

 

Been to Lake Padden Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing