We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Typical of Brewpubs”

Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro
Ranked #5 of 451 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Boundary Bay Brewery opened in 1995 & we've been making great handcrafted beer and fresh, local food for the Bellingham community ever since! Our brewery houses a Tap Room and family-friendly Bistro, located in a restored historic 1922 warehouse in Downtown Bellingham, across from the Saturday Farmer's Market. We also have a great deck for outdoor dining and a Beer Garden where you can enjoy BBQ's and outdoor concerts in the Summer.
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Pretty Typical of Brewpubs”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Had an enjoyable family lunch before heading to the San Juans. We are something of Brewpub seekers during our travels. Have to rate this one middle of the road. Food and beer are fine, just not exceptional. Service pretty middle of the road. It's likely the best in Bellingham, yet in the shadows of some Seattle area brethren.

Limited outdoor seating that does not quite take advantage of the view of Bellingham Bay.

Might go again if we're in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FJVLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    238
    84
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Local brew pub”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great local award-winning beers and good food in downtown Bellingham. Always busy tells you how popular this place is. Every September they host the annual not-to-miss cribbage tournament!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AJH0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great beer and great food!”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was a return trip here. Last visit was 4 years ago when I brought my son to attend Western Washington University. He just graduated and I wanted our farewell meal to be at Boundary Bay. The beer was excellent. I like darker beer so I ordered their stout and ended with several glasses of their dark ale(?). Both were delicious. With a large group of 9, we tried to make a reservation but they do not take same day reservations. We took a chance and went there at 6:45 p.m. on a Wednesday night and was seated within 20 minutes. Dishes that my group raved about were the mac & cheese, big stew, lamb sandwich and BLAT (their version of the BLT). My pesto salmon sandwich was okay but nothing out of the ordinary. They have four desserts, brownie with ice cream, vanilla bean creme brule, red velvet cheese cake and strawberry shortcake. The creme brule was okay, brownie / ice cream decadent and the cheese cake huge and on the heavier side but delicious. The bulk of the menu items were between $8.99 and $20.00 with the dinner entrees a little higher. Evening parking is free and plentiful, a public parking lot is located across of the street. All in all, this is a great restaurant and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank damookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillooet, Canada
2 reviews
“Friendly Staff and Fresh Beer”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My niece planned a gathering for relatives and friends at the Boundary Bay Brewery. We had the use of the outdoor area. It was a beautiful day which was great as we could sit in the sun or under the shelter. The fresh beer was exceptional and we were able to taste the various types before deciding on which pint to pour. Lunch was nice with cold cuts and different types of bread as well as a varied salad serving. The staff members were friendly and helpful. The manager noticed my brother's Minnesota Twins cap and came over to chat as he was previously from the Twin Cities. We had a beautiful afternoon at Boundary Bay Brewery and will definitely be back when we return to Bellingham.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bear3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
812 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Always good beer”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Always visit the brewery when in Bellingham. I usually drink the IPA but this time tried the stout which was nearly 9% abv - another good ale. It's nice to sit outside on a sunny day. A good atmosphere and good beer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing