We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Suds!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro

Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 440 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Boundary Bay Brewery opened in 1995 & we've been making great handcrafted beer and fresh, local food for the Bellingham community ever since! Our brewery houses a Tap Room and family-friendly Bistro, located in a restored historic 1922 warehouse in Downtown Bellingham, across from the Saturday Farmer's Market. We also have a great deck for outdoor dining and a Beer Garden where you can enjoy BBQ's and outdoor concerts in the Summer.
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
“Great Suds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This lively Brewery has an excellent variety of brews and interesting food to compliment each other!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    224
    72
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A really fun and huge brewpub, but suffers some from its success”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Boundary Bay is one HUGE brewpub/restaurant/beer garden/event center/destination! In fact, they claim to be the largest microbrewery anywhere. The beers are famously great, the food is creative, delicious, and reasonable. The music and other events are among the best in Bellingham. But, the downside is that there popular success ensures lots of crowding, lots of noise, and harried service that is significantly impeded by the crowding. It is often so loud you literally can't hear the person sitting next to you. These caveats aside, Boundary Bay is a Bellingham institution not to be missed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sho1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good and Busy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a staple of Bellingham. Usually pretty busy with good beer and above average pub food! Last time we were there we waited about 5 min for a seat and service was quick.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacob35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better Than Average, But Not By Much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

While I have nothing against the restaurant, there's also nothing extraordinary about it either. It's an old standard that remains an old standard. Eventually, restaurants need to evolve and this one seems stuck. It could use a shot in the arm to bring back some pizzazz.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jesuistom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Valentine's Day Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a delicious duck breast dinner with port and cherries for Valentine's Day at Boundary Bay Brewery. It was superb. (Better than the duck dinners we had at Stella's in New Orleans, and Le Vallauris in Palm Springs.) A fantastic evening. This was the third time we've celebrated Valentine's Day at the restaurant and each time it has been memorable. Also good at their restaurant are the chicken with tarragon sauce, and the roasted red pepper chicken soup. One of the premier restaurants in the Northwest.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing