We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good nosh, but crowded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro

Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro
Ranked #3 of 429 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Boundary Bay Brewery opened in 1995 & we've been making great handcrafted beer and fresh, local food for the Bellingham community ever since! Our brewery houses a Tap Room and family-friendly Bistro, located in a restored historic 1922 warehouse in Downtown Bellingham, across from the Saturday Farmer's Market. We also have a great deck for outdoor dining and a Beer Garden where you can enjoy BBQ's and outdoor concerts in the Summer.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good nosh, but crowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Almost any night there will be a wait, but the food is good and the beer is great! Service can be good or bad depending on who you get for waitstaff and how busy it is. Not a quick meal place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosebud59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    196
    69
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food with good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Five people in my family went to the restaurant on a Friday night. We were told the wait would be 25 minutes and 15 minutes later we had a seat. Place was packed and service was ok. Beer was good and I must say everyone looked there food. Food came very fast. Would visit them again for food and drink.

Helpful?
Thank Tonaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Northwestern Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Good beer and pub food. Seats at the picnic benches leave a lot to be desired but this is a pub! Had the lamb burger, very good. Selection of beers was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rosegrwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
171 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fairplay with customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I visited this brewery the weekend of Bellingham´s marathon. Somebody recommended it to me and we stopped by. The food was good and also the atmosphere was nice but our surprise came up the day after when we realized that we were charged a 18% tip. Usually restaurants and bars charge automatically the tip in large groups but we were only 4 people so we didn´t expect the tip to be included so we tipped twice.
What really piss me off is that the server manipulated our order and she made the system believe that we were 5 people; doing so, the machine added automatically the tip without overcharging the bill.
Fairplay, my dear. Never come back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Beer, go to Bayou for Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Been going here for a few years now and I can solidly say they have some of the best beer ive tasted. Love their new Irish stout also. But the scotch ale is always the go to.

Food is expensive and nothing special however. Their lamb burger is good and fairly inexpensive and the Pacific Northwest Pizza is tasty but overpriced.

Go here for the beer and live music. Best in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hayden314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing