We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch delight” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro

Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro
Ranked #5 of 440 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Boundary Bay Brewery opened in 1995 & we've been making great handcrafted beer and fresh, local food for the Bellingham community ever since! Our brewery houses a Tap Room and family-friendly Bistro, located in a restored historic 1922 warehouse in Downtown Bellingham, across from the Saturday Farmer's Market. We also have a great deck for outdoor dining and a Beer Garden where you can enjoy BBQ's and outdoor concerts in the Summer.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lunch delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stopped on our way to Vancouver for a quick lunch. Found it in trip advisor. It is a few miles off the highway in the downtown area. Sit inside or out, seat yourself. Nice menu choices, gluten free beer and pizza are options. Nice sized meals for lunch. Worth the trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cwitham2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    224
    72
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a cool place next to the bay. We wanted to try out the brewery since my husband has started to make his own brew at home as a hobby. The staff was very accommodating since we didn't have a reservation for a party of 12. We had two tables side to side outside that worked out well. Loved the music and atmosphere. The food was good. The kids had a good time. Beers were really good. Will come back again when visiting in bellingham.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maribel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talent, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent smoked salmon chowder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I went to the Boundary Bay Brewery and Bistro in Bellingham Washington yesterday for lunch at the suggestion of a worker at the Hampton Inn where we were staying in Burlington. Everything about it was outstanding! The atmosphere is casual and the staff and patrons were very friendly. We had the smoked salmon chowder...it was delicious! Also had fish tacos that were out of this world! Wish we had a place like this in our town!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great working bar, great building, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We saw this place after attending the Saturday farmer's market in downtown Bellingham and vowed to go back and eat there, which we did, a week later. Because we had teenagers with us, we had to eat in the restaurant part, which had great local art on display (great art, and affordable) and nice, old walls and high ceilings. It was the lunch rush, and service to take our order and give us the check was slow though friendly. The food, though a bit pricey, came SUPER fast once we got the order in, and was good.The reuben wasn't the best I've had, but it was a respectable representation on great locally made bread. The pizza the kids shared was freshly made on homemade crust: kids liked, husband did not. The BEST thing, however, is that when the kids went off to explore downtown we got out our laptops, headed to the bar, and worked for a couple of hours while enjoying craft brews and local flavor.

This is a GREAT place to get work done in Bellingham! Not too noisy, laid back vibe, quick service, full menu, and happy hour specials. My husband didn't even drink and enjoyed the vibe, the coffee and sweets he ordered. If you like the option of having a drink while you work, this is the place to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeslaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I expect more from B'ham”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

As a native of the upper NW corner of the state, I adore rain. But even on an overcast day, the first thing I noticed was the gloomy feel this pub had (I'd have tried to put the dining room facing the bay, but it's likely you didn't have a choice). The second thing I noticed was they list their ABV, yet not their IBU. I wasn't in the mood for a long, drawn out discussion with our waitress about the degree of bitterness of each beer - it's frustrating when breweries don't provide that info on their menus or taplists. So, I just had water. Unfortunately, my dry burger would have made my dessicated-meat-loving mother quite happy. The bun was dense and dry, too, which didn't help. It had a wee swipe of mayonnaise on half of it, so most moisture had to come from the lettuce and tomato.

But our waitress was nice, and quite accomodating. Even so, next time we're in B'ham, we'll probably visit Kulshan or Chuckanut first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pomegranate206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Boundary Bay Brewery & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing