We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good; great staff”
Review of Colophon Cafe

Colophon Cafe
Ranked #12 of 451 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: We are located in a national historic building over 130 years old and adjacent to city park space. For nearly 30 years, the Colophon Cafe has been the true heart of Fairhaven! We strive for fresh and delicious food, offering five homemade soups a day and we are known for our African Peanut Soup, fresh salads and sandwiches, a full cocktail menu with rotating taps and an excellent happy hour from 3-6pm Monday thru Friday. Our bakers make all our desserts from scratch and we have an epic peanut butter pie, cookies and cakes. We have many gluten-free options and will cater to dietary restrictions. Outdoor patio seating is available seasonally on the perimeter of a city park that often has live music and events. If it is cold, cozy up on the couch and have a Caffe Umbria espresso or glass of wine by the fire with your favorite people. We hope to see you soon and welcome to Bellingham!
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Really really good food that is consistent every visit. The soups are excellent. ingredients are fresh and they have some of the best balsamic vinegar on the planet from the oil and vinegar vendor upstairs from the restaurant.

Thank Cascadefirechief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiasmith, Manager at Colophon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Cascadefirechief,
Thank you for your recent review of the Colophon Café. We are delighted you like us and thank you for sharing your opinion with the world. We hope to see you again next time you are in town! Happy Eating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Colophon Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 152 of 233 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

The Colophon is a Fairhaven institution-- cute, casual, with a nice patio for outdoor dining during nice weather. I stop here anytime I'm in the neighborhood for lunch, or get something to read from Village Books upstairs and relax with a cookie and some coffee.

The African peanut soup is to die for, I could eat it every day. Clam chowder and sandwiches are also highly recommended, as are the towering desserts (best to get one to share).

Thank SierraE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiasmith, Manager at Colophon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

SierraE, thank you for visiting and reviewing the Colophon! We hope you have a cookie and coffee by the fireplace soon! Happy Eating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Service is not bad, but the food is not that great for the price. Also not a very big selection on the menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tobybaby03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiasmith, Manager at Colophon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Tobybaby03, Thank you for your visit and review of our locally owned mom and pop café. We strive to make an excellent lunch experience, and are saddened to hear you were disappointed. We are planning some exciting menu changes, with more diversity and a small cocktail menu in the near future and hope you will come back and check them out next time you are in town. Your feedback is appreciated...but we do wish we had more details to know exactly what to improve! Happy Eating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Hiding from the chill of the town square, we tucked in for lunch. Food was pretty good, prices were fair, and service was quick and attentive.

Thank KulaGrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiasmith, Manager at Colophon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi Kula Grower!
Thanks for choosing the Colophon on your recent culinary adventures...Happy Eating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

What a great find for two veggies to find a place with such great options. The flight of three soups were all delicious and the veggie pot pie was fantastic. Also, how can you go wrong with $2.50 for a bottomless cup of organic coffee. We were very pleased with the friendly service and the everything about our visit. Oh yea, order the rosemary potatoes. YUM!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophiasmith, Manager at Colophon Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

DrDSM,
Thanks for your recent review of the Colophon! We are happy you had a great experience. We proudly serve delicious organic fair-trade coffee and have many vegetarian and gluten-free options for those that eat outside the box. We hope to see you next time you are in the 'Ham! Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colophon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing