We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colophon Cafe

Colophon Cafe
Ranked #13 of 426 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in historic building over a hundred years old and adjacent to city park space for nearly 30 years, the Colophon Cafe is the true heart of Fairhaven. We strive for fresh and delicious food, offering five homemade soups a day, fresh salads and good old comfort food with the best French dips, pulled pork and potpies. Our bakers make all our goodies from scratch. We are undergoing a remodel and expansion in early 2014 and are excited to see you soon!
Colorado
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Fast service, good food, gluten free choices. I had a turkey avocado sandwich on gluten free bread with vegan pea soup, with a gluten free peanut butter cookie for dessert. On a summer Sunday, overlooking the Village green with a swing band concert.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotlandtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    71
    31
    12
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent peanut butter pie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We used to come to this quaint little restaurant in the heart of Fairhaven District in south Bellingham especially for their ice cream, particularly their chocolate peanut butter ice cream. When they were out of that we'd get the Moose trax. But this trip we spotted the chocolate peanut butter pie and it was fabulous! I have tried it in a number of restaurants and was always disappointed. However this time it was a hit! The only one I would return for. Maybe next time I'll get lucky and get both the ice cream and the pie. Yum! You have to try it. Really. But leave me a piece. :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puget Sound, Washington
Level Contributor
163 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Bellingham/Fairhaven must do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I always make it a point to stop here for a bite when I'm in the area. The Colophon Cafe is wonderfully funky; with outdoor tables facing a park that often has a farmer's market and live entertainment in the summer. Food is good and servers are very friendly. As someone else mentioned, there's a great bookstore (Village Books) next door as well. A great way to spend a casual afternoon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank azzure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great prices, located in the Fairhaven Historic District, and great Pac NW food!! I recommend the African Peanut Soup - delicious and filling.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“FRiendly Staff and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

With no prior knowledge walking in while wandering through Fairhaven District. Not fancy at all, but comfortable. My wife had Italian Quiche, I had 1/2 french dip. WE both has clam chowder. Everything was very good. The bill was very reasonable. A very relaxing meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JMD1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colophon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Colophon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing