We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRiendly Staff and Good Food”
Review of Colophon Cafe

Colophon Cafe
Ranked #13 of 444 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Located in historic building over a hundred years old and adjacent to city park space for nearly 30 years, the Colophon Cafe is the true heart of Fairhaven. We strive for fresh and delicious food, offering five homemade soups a day, fresh salads and good old comfort food with the best French dips, pulled pork and potpies. Our bakers make all our goodies from scratch. We are undergoing a remodel and expansion in early 2014 and are excited to see you soon!
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“FRiendly Staff and Good Food”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

With no prior knowledge walking in while wandering through Fairhaven District. Not fancy at all, but comfortable. My wife had Italian Quiche, I had 1/2 french dip. WE both has clam chowder. Everything was very good. The bill was very reasonable. A very relaxing meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMD1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    83
    32
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food. Great staff”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food was good but the staff made our experience here - so friendly and helpful.

The black bean veggie burger, served with a spicy salsa on the side, was tasty and filling. The Caesar salad came with a light dressing. The potato wedges were delicious.

Good coffee and the 'Arnold Palmer' iced tea (iced tea and lemonade) was very refreshing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthCountryWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
287 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Central position, food "OK"”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ate lunch here with friends. It was a warm day, so we ate outside. Friendly service. They were not overly busy (it was past 2pm), but it still took more than 15 minutes for our lunch to arrive. The clam chowder was rated "OK" by one friend. My ham and Swiss was uninspired and the rye bread was dry. However, they did make me an iced coffee that was excellent!

My husband soup of the day was a Greek lemon, which he enjoyed.

If I was in Fairhaven again, I would prefer to eat at Magdalena's creperie, just across the street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torquay102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A friendly place”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Billed as the coolest cafe in Bellingham! We ate there twice during our stay. Try the African Peanut Soup! You won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cantrelld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Innovative menu and great for kids”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Best soup and sandwiches we've eaten in a long while. Fantastic service, reasonable prices and a kids' menu which is not simply filled with junk.

And finally, it's connected to Village Books, probably one of the best independent bookstores in the Pacific Northwest. Huzza.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RovingCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colophon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Colophon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing