We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Colophon Cafe

Colophon Cafe
Ranked #12 of 444 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in historic building over a hundred years old and adjacent to city park space for nearly 30 years, the Colophon Cafe is the true heart of Fairhaven. We strive for fresh and delicious food, offering five homemade soups a day, fresh salads and good old comfort food with the best French dips, pulled pork and potpies. Our bakers make all our goodies from scratch. We are undergoing a remodel and expansion in early 2014 and are excited to see you soon!
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food. Great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food was good but the staff made our experience here - so friendly and helpful.

The black bean veggie burger, served with a spicy salsa on the side, was tasty and filling. The Caesar salad came with a light dressing. The potato wedges were delicious.

Good coffee and the 'Arnold Palmer' iced tea (iced tea and lemonade) was very refreshing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthCountryWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    82
    32
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
277 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Central position, food "OK"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ate lunch here with friends. It was a warm day, so we ate outside. Friendly service. They were not overly busy (it was past 2pm), but it still took more than 15 minutes for our lunch to arrive. The clam chowder was rated "OK" by one friend. My ham and Swiss was uninspired and the rye bread was dry. However, they did make me an iced coffee that was excellent!

My husband soup of the day was a Greek lemon, which he enjoyed.

If I was in Fairhaven again, I would prefer to eat at Magdalena's creperie, just across the street.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torquay102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A friendly place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Billed as the coolest cafe in Bellingham! We ate there twice during our stay. Try the African Peanut Soup! You won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cantrelld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Innovative menu and great for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Best soup and sandwiches we've eaten in a long while. Fantastic service, reasonable prices and a kids' menu which is not simply filled with junk.

And finally, it's connected to Village Books, probably one of the best independent bookstores in the Pacific Northwest. Huzza.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RovingCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Destination Eating Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I always come to this restaurant when I visit Bellingham. It is casual, very good food; you can sit inside or outside by the Village Green. Great soups and interesting sandwiches...a good mid day stop!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frogcity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colophon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing