We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean & friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean & friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2009

surprised to get such a nice room for the price. clean, comfortable, but waaaaaay too much furniture in the room -- very crowded.

  • Liked — clean, remodeled
  • Disliked — tight quarters
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twofischSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    82
    51
    17
    7
See reviews for
78
60
33
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

I stayed here one night for business. The price was good. The room was overcrowded with furniture, the front desk help was a little up tight and the laundry room was across the hall and open later than it was supposed to be (according to the sign on the door) so I could hear a noisy dryer at 11 PM. But the dryer wasn't loud enough to bug me much. It was just fine for one night and the breakfast was good. It was clean and the bed was comfortable although the mattress pad was stiff plastic and irritating so I removed it. I would stay here again due to the location but I would also check around for another similarly priced place.

  • Liked — location/ breakfast
  • Disliked — customer service/mattress pad was stiff plastic/noisy laundry room open too late
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telitlykeitiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

I stayed here with a group of 5 gals for a shopping trip in early August and quite enjoyed the hotel. We only chose this one as it had a suite that could accommondate all of us and therefore we were pleasantly surprised. Take note that it is in the process of changing names to Guesthouse Inn.

Check in was smooth and very friendly at around 4 pm.

They offer a fabulous breakfast that was a surprise as we didn't hear about this ahead of time.

The room we had was large enough for us with 2 queen beds and a sofa bed.

They have a hot tub as well that held maybe 6 max, but was a welcome treat after a day of shopping.

Our only complaint was the hallways smelled awful, couldn't quite make it out, stale smoke mixed with B.O. but the room smelled ok.

Also, ample parking as we had a large pick-up.

We will definately be back here.

  • Liked — The free breakfast
  • Disliked — the smelly hallways
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulubelle45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manning, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

Great place to stay if your taking the Alaska Ferry. Or coming on the bus from Seattle WA easy in and out and transportation to places you need to go.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davesgolf1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

Checked in Saturday, 8/17 in PM only to be greeted by a sign on desk stating " Clerk away from desk, be back soon" I was second in line & patiently waited my turn.
When at last clerk waits on me I ask if there's an Applebee's Restaurant nearby. Clerks responds "I've never heard of Applebees" The lady in line behind me kindly knew &gave me the info. This did not sit well with the clerk. From than on any questions were met with a grumpy look & response.

Once in our very small room with way to much furniture even using the bathroom & outside sink ,which is immediately to your left upon opening the door was very difficult to use..
No closet in room except for very small one inside overwhelmingly large TV cabinet that takes over the already small space.

When we left that eveneing (8/17) for our dinner at Apple Bee's, I again noticed the same sign as before on check in desk "Clerk away, be back soon" & again upon our return from dinner. ComplimentaryBreakast next AM was exceptional with a variety of choices.

P
Pasadena,Ca

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank PegPasadena_Cs_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frbill92@hotmail.com
Level Contributor
217 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

I stayed at the Bellingham Val U Inn on July 6 and on July 13 for one night at each stay. The thing that impressed me the most was the friendly front desk staff when I arrived and left. Not only were they polite and helpful to me, but to every guest that they worked with. There is no restaurant on site which is a disadvantage, but the property is centrally located to many restaurants and fast food places within a mile. There is a Fred Meyer Shopping Center across the street that is very handy. The room was a standard room--clean and comfortable. There is easy on and off freeway access to Interstate 5 and the property is located about 5 minutes from the airport. I had a pleasant stay at the property and would return on my next trip to Bellingham. The property is reasonably priced and an ideal location for anyone going to the ferry, Canada or the airport. Travelers need to be aware that the property has changed its name from Bellingham Val U Inn to Guest House. I was confused and drove around for 10 minutes until I recognized the U on the outside of the building and when I got into the motel the front desk told me about the name change.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Frbill92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2008

Just stay there if you are going to be near that area. You are not staying at the Wynn hotel in Las Vegas. This is Bellingham WA. And this place is very good for what you pay.

Just go there.

  • Liked — price-value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank elbato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
2.5 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Property: GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
Address: 805 Lakeway Dr, Bellingham, WA 98229-6218 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your GuestHouse Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing