We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value if you don't need wifi.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added GuestHouse Inn Bellingham to your Saves list
GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Suquamish, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Value if you don't need wifi.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Clean. Right next to freeway bit noise was not an issue. Good size rooms. As this is 2014 I would expect wifi services in the room. Breakfast available but haven't tried it. Coffee maker in the room. Their wifi service is AWFUL and they know it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. I apologize about your difficulties with the wifi. You will be happy to know that a new wifi system is being installed this week! We are excited about improving the guests stay whenever possible, and we are quite sure this will be a welcome upgrade! Thank you for bringing this to our attention and perhaps you will visit again and find the new system to your liking.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    78
    44
    13
    6
See reviews for
66
55
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My wife and I were very impressed with the service and wonderful accommodations at the Bellingham Guest House Inn. The staff was very helpful in our plans to visit this wonderful town. In fact we loved it so much we stayed an extra day.

Room Tip: We had a very spacious King size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GIbill57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for such a stellar review! The crew here at the GHI work very hard and it is always appreciated when someone takes the time to share about their stay. Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again on your next visit.

Again, Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Excellent access, friendly smart staffing (thanks Sonya), clean, bright and a great price. I looked at several places to stay in Bellingham and this is a terrific value. Location is central to Bellingham and you can be on I5 in less than a minute.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "quiet side" This hotel is very close to US Hwy I 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello and thank you for the great review! I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that you took the time to leave a great review. Thank you again and please keep us in mind for your next visit to Bellingham. We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This Memorial Day weekend (2014) our family and friends stayed here for our son's wedding.
It's easily found off I-5, on Lakeway Drive. Breakfast was included: the usual bagels, muffins,
cereal, and you can also make your own waffle. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.
The only possible problem is if you are on the I-5 side, you do hear the traffic, but we kept the
AC fan on and that hid the noise. Staff was friendly and helpful. A very good budget
accommodation.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the freeway is noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdxlady52024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I am happy that the crew was able to provide you with a clean and comfy stay while in Bellingham. Please do visit us again when you are in the area!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is a hidden gem. It's located next to the freeway, but not very noisy if you get the room from other side that's facing the street. It's very close to downtown, about 6 min. drive. Room is very clean and comfortable, good breakfast in the morning with fresh fruit and cook your own waffle. highly recommend this place.

only down side is the lack of exercise room and swimming pool. :(
but it does have a heating pool :)

Room Tip: Room opposite of the fwy is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kc302u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for the great review! I am glad that our staff was able to provide you with a clean and comfy stay. I really appreciate you taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Our second or third stay there. And no problems. it was welcoming infact. the tront desk clerk- a manager, I think - a Blonde lady was most accommading and friendly...Room was great.
The ONLY disappointment was the breakfast and the area it was in....I know that it is hard to plan for continental breakfasts but the area seemed sterile, antiseptic under glaring light....
Having said that, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or stay there again.
Thanks,

Room Tip: Pet owners may wish to be near an exit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spokanimal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. I do so appreciate the kind words regarding our staff. They are a great group of hard working people that take pride in pleasing the guest whenever possible. We hope to see you again when in the Bellingham area!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, BC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed overnight at the guesthouse and was very happy with the free shuttle to the airport. The staff is very friendly and professional, the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable and the free breakfast in the morning was an added benefit. A really convenient stay for travelers using the Bellingham airport. I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks for the complimentary review. Yes, the border can be a challenge and make you late for your flight! I think it is a great alternative to come down the evening before, rent a room and take the shuttle to airport. A guest may leave their car for a week of free parking with their stay. A great deal to be had! Do come see us again and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#16 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#18 of 28 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Property: GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
Address: 805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your GuestHouse Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing