We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added GuestHouse Inn Bellingham to your Saves list
GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed for three nights, room was very clean and much better than the reviews that we had read, My son and family have stayed a couple of time's before and were pleased with the accommodation's The room we had faced the highway the noise from the traffic even thou it was raining heavily was not bad at all, We had a housekeeping problem both night's nothing major, We complained to the front desk and it was taken care of quickly (more than we expected) We will stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbow T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I appreciate your kind words and hope that you will be visiting again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    78
    44
    13
    6
See reviews for
66
55
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I picked this hotel for value for an early morning flight while the location was not as near to the airport as I wanted, it was good enough, theprice was good, the room was clean and comfortable and i came back for a second night as my flight was cancelled due to weather. While this is not a high class hotel, it is good enough, and I would go back again as need arise.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you your email and thanks very much for your stay! I am happy that we were able to accommodate you and your fellow travelers when the ice and snow hit. That was quite the challenge for travelers. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by this property for the price. The room was clean and comfortable, with no noise as we were on the other side from the highway. It is easy walking distance to the old part of Bellingham. The room had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker which were all clean and in good condition. It also had free wifi. We did not have breakfast so can't comment but I would recommend this place as good value if you are not looking for frills.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room on the other side from the highway for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lozza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Lozza! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I am happy that we were able to make you comfortable during your visit! It is our goal to provide a comfy sleep, a hot shower and a tasty breakfast to start the day. A good rest and stay is paramount when traveling. It can make or break the start of the day! Please visit us again the next time you are in the area and again, thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

stayed one night (& would do so again in the future)

clean & cozy room, continental breakfast (with fresh fruit & boiled eggs & pre-formed egg patties etc)

friendly staff; great location a stone's throw from the I-5 north / south exits

as previous reviewers noted, my room also had a large wall unit that held an old big TV, closet, drawers & mini-fridge (an adult could put a small mattress on top of the wall unit and sleep there). But given what the wall unit contained, it was a reasonable use of space

two reviewers had problems changing TV channels. I pulled the little black cable box up to the front of the TV / wall unit, and was able to change channels even when pointing the remote in the other direction.

[personal rant: why do some reviewers rage about one or two hairs lying about their room? Are there no stray hairs in their own bathroom / bedroom? Do they expect the absolute purity of an Intel 'clean room'?]

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank desertfor123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and the suggestion for the cable box. You are spot on about how pulling the box a bit forward does wonders. Sometimes when dusting, the box will slip back and not receive the signal from the remote. I also appreciate your candor and your kind words about our staff. They are a hard working bunch and are often the unsung heroes. On their behalf, thank you!
We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
M. Howard
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked this stay through 'Hotwire' and wasn't disappointed to be staying here. Price was very good and it was a quick one night stay and out. Now, all I ever need is cleanliness and a comfortable bed. The Guesthouse Inn was clean but VERY outdated. Our two Queen room had a massive wall unit in it with an old school TV that literally took up all your space at the foot of the bed. The beds themselves were old with soft spots and dips in them. Pillows were more like throw pillows on grandma's couch and bathroom was dated worn. Almost felt like this is a place that would still advertise 'Color TV'

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. You mentioned the cleanliness of our hotel and for this I say thank you. We have a crew in housekeeping that work very hard to provide a clean and comfy stay for our guest. As you noticed, things are showing a bit of age in our facility. The great news is, we have an upgrade just around the corner. Perhaps you will notice the changes upon your next stay. Please do visit again! We look forward to seeing you again!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed there for our first time as we were flying out of Bellingham. The hotel was nice.... no complaints. They offered free parking for 7 nights, while several charged for this. They also offered free shuttle to and from the airport. They offered a hot continental breakfast but we slept in and missed it. Would definitely stay there again if ever flying out of Bellingham.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I appreciate that you will be using The Guesthouse as your go to "Park and Fly" hotel! We really do appreciate your business. Do visit us again soon and again, thank you for your time!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

the bathtub is too old and have dirty marks. but the bath room floor is very clean and dry.
the receptionist is not very friendly and patience when I asked some question.
the breakfast is ok. It was told that the rooms with two beds are all along the high way so there has some noise issue.
the air condition has no temprature number.

Room Tip: rooms with one bed may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelervan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Perhaps we will see you again and have the opportunity to provide you our usually high level of customer service as well as another clean and comfy stay.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#16 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#18 of 28 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Property: GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
Address: 805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your GuestHouse Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing