We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for visiting!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Guesthouse is located very near downtown and the WWU campus. It is right near the freeway on-ramps so they have easy access to everything in the area. The proximity of the WWU campus was why chose this place but it has easy access to everything. The room was quiet and large. Very clean, very accommodating. The last time we were in Bellingham I was recently out of a wheelchair and using a 4 wheel walker, so I noticed and appreciated the lift arm into the hot tub. Parking was very plentiful, always a spot near our room.

Room Tip: Ask for near the hot tub/vending machines. No fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Andy C! Thanks for staying with us and for your great review! I am happy that we were able to provide a comfortable stay for you while visiting WWU. We always welcome our parents and families of Western and we appreciate you choosing the Guesthouse. How wonderful that the lift was able to make your use of the hot tub easier and safer for you. Please do come see us again when you are in the area!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 254 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

Spent three nights at the GuestHouse Inn earlier this week. My pleasant king size bedded room was comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The cordial, helpful front desk staff added to the enjoyable stay, as did availability of breakfast food items served every morning. And they're included in the price of the room. Dollar for dollar GuestHouse Inn offers good value. The hotel is well located on Lakeway Drive just one minute from Interstate 5. It's my "go to" place whenever
staying in Bellingham. Thanks GuestHouse Inn for another enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelKnight1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Knight1!

It was great to meet you and I am quite pleased that we were able to provide a clean and comfy stay for you. Knowing that you are well seasoned traveler, I appreciate your review very much! Thank you for the kind words about our staff and for sharing about your stay. Please do come back and see us whenever you are in the area! You and your Brother were great guest!

Regards,
Molly H.
Assistant General Manager
Bellignham Guesthouse Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We went down to Vegas again in October, 2013 from Victoriam, BC. We stayed at the Guesthouse Inn once again, 3rd time now, as it offers comfortable beds, friendly servide and yummy free breakfast! The best feature for us Canadians however, is that we can park the car in their lot while away, be shuffled to and from the airport with no fees attached. Location is nice too as there is a Fred Myers across the street and some good Japanese restaurants and other types of food near by.

Keep up the good work guys!

Room Tip: One side faces the highway so can be a little noisy but if you ask for a room on the back side, it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpretula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Mpretula!

Thank you for taking the time to review your return stay with us!! We do so appreciate our return guests!! It is our goal to provide a great rest, a nice hot shower and a tasty breakfast in a clean and comfy environment. I am happy we were able to provide you with this during your stay.

Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a reasonably good basic hotel and was much cheaper than most other hotels in the vicinity. We stayed here in Spring 2013 and again Nov 2013. In fact, we had the same room! and while it is a fairly decent place, there were a couple of things that we noticed on our first visit that have remained unchanged.
Room has a bar fridge that we complained about 6 months ago, and the issue still has not been fixed. The fridge constantly squeaks. We turned the fridge off in the night and it defrosted, and left a puddle of dirty water, so who knows the last time it was cleaned. Also, the dust on the lampshades was unchanged from our last visit. All this being said, we would probably stay here again as for the most part it is fairly clean and does offer a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Mrsgoshawk!

Thank you for staying with us again! We do appreciate it! Also, thank you for bringing the dust and the fridge to our attention. I will get my team on this ASAPand I hope that we will exceed your expectations on your next visit!

Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We love our return guest and really do appreciate your candor!

Until we see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed the night here as we were flying out of Bellingham International in the morning. Location was good and close to the airport. Hotel decor was dated, as was the comforter on the bed which seemed very worn. Bathroom wall had some wallpaper coming away from the wall at the bottom but otherwise the room seemed in good condition and was clean.TV was a pain to use and took us about 5 minutes of waving the remote around to various positions trying to get it to turn on. Staff were very friendly and the most outstanding part of this place. Breakfast in the morning was the standard fare although it would have been nice to see some sort of meat to put on the breakfast sandwich. Overall fairly average place nothing too exciting but it got the job done.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side have much less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DemAkasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. While I am thrilled with your comment regarding the cleanliness of our hotel, I am even prouder of the complement of our crew! We have a great crew here that works very hard to provide a clean, comfortable stay for our guest! I absolutely love sharing these complements with the team as they are what makes our place work! Thank you very much for your thorough review and the candid thoughts that you have shared with us. Please do come back and see us next time you are in Bellingham!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Easily accessible from I-5, though I did not hear the highway noise. The room was small, which was fine for me traveling alone. I had a single queen bed room...perhaps a different room would have more space. Breakfast was your typical motel fare...though people were making their own waffles, which seemed quite popular. Easy access to all of the lovely Bellingham activities. Safe area. Seemed a bit overpriced, but I think a lot of lodging in the area is. I got a deal on Priceline, which made it a great deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Halekat,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad that we were able to provide for your needs while here in Bellingham. Please keep us in mind on your next time you are in Bellingham! We would love the opportunity to provide you a comfortable stay once again.

Again, thank you!

M. Howard
AGM Bellingham Guesthouse Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We moved from the Best Western across the street because the cost of the BW was to high for the area. The Guesthouse suited us just fine and was $50 a night cheaper. The room also came with an extended continental breakfast. They had precooked scrambled egg squares there that you could use to make an egg sandwich along with Waffles and other std. continental breakfast Items. We stayed there for 4 days and the service was excellent and the staff very freindly

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Hello Bob H.!

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us! I am glad that we were able to provide a clean and comfortable stay for you. I especially appreciate your compliment regarding the staff. We have an awesome crew that really do care about your stay and love to engage with our guest.
Please do come see us again when you visit the area. It will be our pleasure to have you as our guest!

Thank you again for your time and thoughtfulness!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#19 of 26 in Bellingham
57 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Bellingham
Comfort Inn Bellingham
#10 of 26 in Bellingham
426 reviews
3.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Address: 805 Lakeway Dr, Bellingham, WA 98229-6218 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range: $62 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GuestHouse Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing