We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good place to stay while traveling up or down I5” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good place to stay while traveling up or down I5”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I were on a little west coast vacation and stopped for one night at the Guest House inn in Bellingham on our way back to Vancouver. Our room was reasonably priced and spotless and met all our needs. The beds were very comfortable and the refrigerator and microwave were appreciated. Our only complaint was the Internet stopped working in our room and we had to go to the lobby to book our next nights accommodation. It was a small inconvenience but an inconvenience all the same. The hotel is right off I5and we could hear the freeway a little from our room but it wasn’t obtrusive. There is a basic hot continental breakfast provided with waffle, strawberries and whipped cream but no eggs or meat.
The hotel is not in a touristy area but is close to downtown Bellingham and some shopping. Just a short walk north is the Washington state tourist office where you can check out what is in the area.
All in all the hotel more than met our needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us!! We have such a great crew, and they work so very hard to create a welcoming and comfortable stay for our guest!! I do apologize for the lack of eggs...we usually have both egg patties and hard boiled eggs. Thank you for letting us know!
Again, thanks so much for the kind words! We do appreciate it and I will pass it along to the crew.
We hope that when your adventures bring you to the Bellingham area, you will choose Bellingham Guesthouse Inn for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Molly Howard
AGM Bellingham Guesthouse Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    78
    44
    13
    6
See reviews for
66
55
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Convenient location. Thin walls are a little noisy. Nice breakfast. Walking distance to downtown and WWU. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. Whatcom Falls park and Larrabee State Park are beautiful places to visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review on your stay with us!! We are strive to provide a great and comfy stay for our guest! I am glad that you were able to enjoy some of our local beauty. The Bellingham area has so many beautiful parks and scenic spots to enjoy rain or shine. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Thank you!!
Molly Howard
AGM/Group Coordinator
Bellingham Guesthouse Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Well kept, comfortable & clean.
Easy to find & a nice breakfast included. I would stay again. Not that far from downtown & restaurants. The staff was helpful. Only one issue was the noise from I-5, we turned the fan for A/C on the second night & that did the trick.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suezm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Sue,

Thank you for the great review!! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you received a great deal! There is nothing like a "Great deal" to make your travel day! A great rest, a hot shower and a tasty breakfast is our goal for each and every guest, every day! I am glad that we were able to make your stay "Very nice!". We look forward to having you with us again.

Thank you!!
Molly Howard
AGM/Group Coordinator
Bellingham Guesthouse Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pacific
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Beliingham GuestHouse Inn for two nights (16-18 May, 2013). We were visiting our daughter at Western Washington U. The hotel is an easy five-minute drive even to the opposite end of campus, and very near all the shops, restaurants etc. of downtown. It would not take long to walk to either from the GuestHouse Inn.
We were quite happy with our stay. The hotel building sits very close to the 5 freeway, so we were sure to ask for a room on the other side. It's also a pet-friendly place, so since neither my wife nor I wish to sleep in pet-infested rooms, we mentioned this when we were making the reservation, and apparently the entire 3rd floor has been kept animal-free. So that's where we were.
The rooms, as others have observed, are on the small side, so there's not much room to spread out in. But honestly, for the rate ($95 double occupancy, 2 queen-size beds), it was perfectly suitable. There's a fridge (no freezer) and microwave, cable TV, the usual. Nice shower. All very clean. There is a "spa" (a whirlpool bath), which we didn't use, but no pool or fitness room--which was too bad. Really the only thing I missed. Can't have everything.
The breakfast is the standard waffle-iron, coffee 'n' juice, muffins, and toast routine, all kept splendidly full by a charming and cheerful employee. In fact, everyone there was very kind and helpful. We were greeted by a note and mints from the housecleaning staff--nice touch. This place was everything we needed, and definitely worth what we spent on it. We plan to go back to Bellingham pretty regularly, and will definitely stay at the GuestHouse Inn again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siebesich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for such a thorough and thoughtful review. I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a great and comfortable stay while visiting your Daughter at Western! While you are correct that we don't offer a work out facility, our staff would be happy to share some great trail ideas with you. One particular walk is along the Interurban Trail. The boardwalk strolls out over the water starting at Boulevard Park and stretching into Fairhaven. An easy even walk even with strollers, scooters or wheelchairs. We have many more great outing ideas that will provide you with some exercise while enjoying our great outdoors!

Again, thank you! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Molly Howard
AGM/Group Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Once again my husband and I stayed at this hotel on our way down to Las Vegas recently.
Love the service and value received including a nice room with comfortable beds, hot tub & excellent complementary breakfast before using their free shuttle bus service to the airport and back to the hotel upon completion of our holiday, Our car is safe in their parking lot all free with their Park & Fly option. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return on our next trip down to Vegas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpretula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comox valley, bc
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

we checked in here for one night after a long day of driving back to Canada. The room was small but comfortable. We could walk to the downtown (go to Boundry Bay brew pub, it's fantastic!) and have dinner and drinks and felt perfectly safe doing so on a Saturday night. We've never eaten at a hotel with a self serve breakfast and prob. won't waste our time doing so again even though it is included in the room price. I'm sorry, but pre-cooked poached eggs, strange looking sausage patties and bacon that you heat in the microwave is a terrible breakfast idea. All the "food" choices were so full of preservatives that they can't possibly go bad sitting out for hours. Nothing is on ice. There isn't even butter or margarine...it's "whipped spread". Yuck.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EatWell2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. Thank you also for your kind words, and thank you for your comments about breakfast selection. I do apologize that we did not offer something in our breakfast that you were interested in, and I am taking your comments and seeing what addtions we can make. Thank you. We look forward to serving you again, when your travels bring you back to the Bellingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I went to Bellingham to see a show at the wild Buffalo last Friday and we needed a basic hotel to spend the night. This hotel was in a decent enough location, super easy to find and a quick walk to the downtown area. The rooms aren't super big, but they were clean and comfy.

The staff were super nice and they were really accommodating for me and my dogs, the dog fee is only $10 which is very reasonable.

The breakfast was included in the cost and was way better than expected. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargsMatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I appreciate knowing that you enjoyed your stay, and we fulfilled our guarantee of a clean and comfortable guest room. Thank you also for your kind words about the staff members that work so hard to make your stay enjoyable. And thanks you for your comments about our complimentary expanded breakfast. We look forward to serving you again, when your travels bring you back to the Bellingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#16 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
3.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#18 of 28 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Property: GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
Address: 805 Lakeway Drive, Bellingham, WA 98229 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your GuestHouse Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing