We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Nice Surprise in Comfort and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Bellingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Bellingham
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise in Comfort and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This Springhill is a new property and I have not stayed in one in many years. The hotel is modern and fresh with a clean bright design. The lobby area is well designed and attractive, with a welcoming bar area and lounge. The restaurant portion is similarly appealing. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful in every respect. The room is well thought-out in design with all the furnishings one might want. Evidently, one could sleep four people with reasonable privacy afforded to all. A water closet separate from the shower and sink would come in particularly useful if availing oneself of that arrangement. The bed was comfortable and the room was kept clean by housekeeping. Replenishment of towels and coffee service items was spotty - a slight annoyance. Breakfast was pretty good and I was pleased that most days one had metal flatware and real crockery (instead of that dreadful plastic and styrofoam one encounters elsewhere.) An added bonus was a jazz trio on Friday and Saturday evenings with the managers interacting pleasantly with the guests. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try for a west-facing room - those ones have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane O, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Hamish P,

Thank you for all the kind words you wrote in your review. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our guests'. Thank you so much for noticing our real cutlery and dishes as this is a unique feature for most Spring Hill Suites I have seen. Again, thank you for your time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Shane O'Flaherty
Front Office Manager
SpringHill Suites by Marriott
Bellingham, WA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    87
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
139
99
22
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a wonderful surprise from the moment we entered the lobby. Clean, modern, upbeat, welcoming, friendly staff. When we got to our room it was mores than we expected. A true suite, again, in modern design that made it look clean and fresh and up to date. Bathroom had lots of towels and upgraded amenities, the room was clean and inviting, the bed was very comfortable, and we enjoyed just being in the room and resting and watching TV in the evening. We will definitely be back again in August and whenever we visit Bellingham and invite everyone else to enjoy this wonderful hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovescats6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Wow - thanks for sharing such a wonderful experience! I'm so happy to see we met your needs in providing such a great stay. Thank you for being such a SpringHill Suites Bellingham ambassador! We look forward to seeing you next month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
210 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

For the price this is the best place to stay in Bellingham - I know tripadvisor has Fairhaven inn at #1 which it deserves but that is more than twice the price. This place is new clean and a free breakfast. Great location to access the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us Dave and for taking time to share your experience. We certainly agree we should be at the number 1 spot for Bellingham - thanks for helping us get there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
Level Contributor
176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Been to many places and have stayed at some of the best but this hotel stands out for a number of reasons. Met the manager Keith and was super impressed. The evening entertainment was fantastic. But I have to add one demerit. The shower in my room was very weird. You have to enter the shower before you adjust the water temp. Ouch!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fritz98045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi Fritz! It was great to meet you Saturday and thank you so much for staying with us. Thanks also for the heads up with your shower in your room - we will look into this and ensure it's taken care of. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the music in our Lobby Bar over the weekend as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel seems very new. The rooms are laid out and decorated in modern upscale style. Living room area is comfortable and roomy, kitchen has all you'd need, bathroom is large and lovely (though toilet area being separate is a bit odd).

Staff knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast excellent. Amenities and grounds lovely. Hotel is north of the historic area of Bellingham (which puts you about 10 minutes closer to Vancouver). Right off the interstate, easy drive north to Canada or south to historic center of charming Bellingham with wonderful restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartiNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi Marti - thanks for such a great review and for sharing your experience. I'm so happy to see we took such great care of you during your stay with us. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I visisted with my son and three kids. The room was very nice. They loved the pool and hot tub. Breakfast was very good. We decided to make this a yearly event since I'd be coming from out of state. We will deinitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Julie! We are so happy to be chosen for your family tradition and we cannot thank you enough for staying with us and for sharing such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Staff was wonderful! This is a new property - our room was spacious and comfortable. They provide complimentary laundry facilities - 3 washers and dryers - clean and roomy. We ate in the bar/restaurant - they have a limited but very well executed menu - we had the ribs - the green salad was excellent. All in all it was a very nice stay. The bed was very comfortable but the bathroom design is troublesome - the bathroom consists of two closet type rooms at the foot of the bed with sliding doors that have frosted glass inserts - so if anyone uses the bathroom in the middle of the night the whole room lights up and there is the noise issue. We passed on the free breakfast - they were wiped out by 9:00 and seemed fairly overwhelmed by the crowd as it was the 4th of July weekend. I would stay here again but being my sleep shades to handle the ambient light in the bedroom.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are so pleased you found our hotel enjoyable and thank you for spending your holiday weekend with us! We are quite proud of our Chuckanut Lobby Bar. We realize the split bathrooms aren't for everyone and we appreciate the feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Bellingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
3.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Bellingham

Property: SpringHill Suites Bellingham
Address: 4040 Northwest Ave, Bellingham, WA 98226-9071
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Bellingham 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SpringHill Suites by Marriott®, a hotel with space and style at an affordable price. Ideal for business and leisure, our guest suites offer a seamless blend of style and function along with luxurious bedding, a microwave, mini-fridge, large work desk, free high-speed Internet access, and a spa-like bathroom to ensure your stay is anything but ordinary. Our complimentary hot breakfast, pool, fitness center and free WiFi in the lobby help you stay refreshed and connected outside of your room, giving you the freedom to set your own pace and work or relax your way. It's a balance made for you - the contemporary traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing