We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worth getting up early for breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Cafe

Old Town Cafe
Ranked #43 of 429 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
240 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Worth getting up early for breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is definitely a busy, busy spot! Tried to have breakfast Saturday morning....too long a wait, so got up earlier on Sunday morning. Still a wait, but much shorter, especially if you choose to sit at a "community table". All items are organic and the portions are generous. Hence, the popularity with the college students. The wait staff keep the coffee cup topped off! I liked the "home" potatoes and the jams on the table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    34
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rustic, popular, good breakfasts!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Old Town Cafe is a place we return to with friends each time we visit Bellingham. Nothing fancy about it, just a place where people come. Always busy in the mornings. Good classic breakfasts, with great oatmeal, pancakes, eggs Benedict on an english muffin, great fried potatoes. Organic mostly. A little view of the water, but mostly the train tracks and the old GP site. Service is good & friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C_J_CCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellingham, wa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good place, not good potatoes (that's key for me for breakfast places)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I know a lot more people would go here if they finally get good hashbrowns/breakfast potatoes!! But I guess then the line would be too long. The scene is cool, very B-ham.

(Why does TA rating for from "average" to "very good"--that's quite a leap.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great grub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I'm not normally a breakfast person, but Old Town Cafe is a nice treat once in a while. The food and coffee are excellent, and the service is genuinely friendly. Great all around.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good food, healthy options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Lot's of healthy, organic options on this menu, and the food is reasonably priced. I had the jalapeno tuna melt, which was delicious, but the breakfast menu (served all day) has the most options. The waitress was prompt and friendly, but then disappeared for 45 minutes. I refilled our water glasses from the serving station, while my mom walked up the block to feed our meter. When our food finally came, our toasted sandwiches were cold. If it hadn't been for that, the food would have been great. We were there over the noon hour, but the restaurant didn't look that busy. I've given this a 4/5 because the food quality and price were great--it's really just the service that was bad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JessiStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Old Town Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing