We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth getting up early for breakfast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Cafe

Old Town Cafe
Ranked #47 of 440 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
252 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Worth getting up early for breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is definitely a busy, busy spot! Tried to have breakfast Saturday morning....too long a wait, so got up earlier on Sunday morning. Still a wait, but much shorter, especially if you choose to sit at a "community table". All items are organic and the portions are generous. Hence, the popularity with the college students. The wait staff keep the coffee cup topped off! I liked the "home" potatoes and the jams on the table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
133 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Rustic, popular, good breakfasts!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Old Town Cafe is a place we return to with friends each time we visit Bellingham. Nothing fancy about it, just a place where people come. Always busy in the mornings. Good classic breakfasts, with great oatmeal, pancakes, eggs Benedict on an english muffin, great fried potatoes. Organic mostly. A little view of the water, but mostly the train tracks and the old GP site. Service is good & friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C_J_CCTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellingham, wa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good place, not good potatoes (that's key for me for breakfast places)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I know a lot more people would go here if they finally get good hashbrowns/breakfast potatoes!! But I guess then the line would be too long. The scene is cool, very B-ham.

(Why does TA rating for from "average" to "very good"--that's quite a leap.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daegu
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great grub.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I'm not normally a breakfast person, but Old Town Cafe is a nice treat once in a while. The food and coffee are excellent, and the service is genuinely friendly. Great all around.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good food, healthy options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Lot's of healthy, organic options on this menu, and the food is reasonably priced. I had the jalapeno tuna melt, which was delicious, but the breakfast menu (served all day) has the most options. The waitress was prompt and friendly, but then disappeared for 45 minutes. I refilled our water glasses from the serving station, while my mom walked up the block to feed our meter. When our food finally came, our toasted sandwiches were cold. If it hadn't been for that, the food would have been great. We were there over the noon hour, but the restaurant didn't look that busy. I've given this a 4/5 because the food quality and price were great--it's really just the service that was bad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JessiStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Old Town Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing