We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great food. Perfect views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliff House

Cliff House
Ranked #62 of 432 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $7 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Owned by the Same family for 45 years. We strive to use only LOCAL ingredients as well as serve the farm to table standards !
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food. Perfect views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is my favorite place to take out-of-town visitors. But I also enjoy going there. The menu has a good variety - from steaks to seafood. And their whiskey crab soup is superb!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DavidinYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    38
    27
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had reservations,were seated and left without acknowledgement for twenty minutes before we gave up and left. The blond waitress in the bar walked by us five times and never acknowledged us. The restaurant was dead for a Friday night so there was no excuse for the way staff behaved. The place smelled old and the menu was small. We will not be returning. We told the hostess why we were leaving before we left and she didn't seem to care.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MMReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service, overpriced food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I made a reservation to have dinner here on Friday night and everything was fine at first. We were seated and brought water by the hostess. Then we waited and waited and after twenty minutes of not being acknowledged by anyone we got up and left. There was a blond waitress working in the bar who walked passed us no less than five times and didn't acknowledge us until we got up to leave. It was very annoying especially since there were only three occidental tables in the restaurant. We will not be returning ever. There are many better fine dinning restaurants in Bellingham. The place smelled old and was not as nice as I remember it being in the past.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oh the whiskey crab soup!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a good place to celebrate an event or just have dinner out. It is hard to find in a residential neighborhood, but worth it. Reservations are recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but usually pretty good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Be sure to make reservations. A very expensive restaurant (a bowl of whiskey crab soup is $9.00). Salads are great. Only give you one basket of bread, which is not heated. My steak was great when warm, but dried out quickly. Steaks were overcooked. Husband, a real seafood lover, hated his seafood dinner here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CleanfreakBellingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliff House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing