We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun with Food”

Kyoto Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #109 of 451 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Fun with Food”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The actual spelling of this restaurant is Kyoto, but that's tripadvisor's fault. We were a large group and called ahead to reserve. We were assured we would have enough space. Sadly when we got there, we were jammed into a corner so one of us had to eat off the corner of a table. The prices seemed high, but I told myself there would be a typical Japanese cooking show and ordered the Teriyaki Steak. We also had a couple Sushi Rolls and Fried Rice. Others ordered the combinations (including the $37.95 Ninja Special).
I have to say our Vietnamese chef was an amusing guy and we had heaps of laughs at his antics. Don't think he won't throw food at you, he will. He concluded with a bit of a fire show and we called for the bill. SURPRISE! There was an automatic 18% tip included. I'd say it is worth trying once for the experience, but I won't be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sorely Disappointed”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

After reading all of the awesome reviews and looking at their menu online we were really excited to go and try their food. It was an awful idea. My dad took one bite of his yakisoba (a normally easy to prepare and awesome dish) and pushed it aside. There was a horrible sauce that tasted like nothing but salt on it. The refunded it but it was still a horrible experience. My boyfriend ordered the same thing and complained about a weird feeling in his mouth. My mom order general tsos chicken and said she felt it was probably microwaved. My sushi was just average. I don't think that I'll give this restaurant another try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CrystalDBrooks12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dinner & a show!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Well, actually, it wasn't dinner, but lunch - but we still got the 'show'.
The table, which seats about 8 people, has the grill in the center, and the cook/chef comes out with your order and does his fancy show with all the cutlery while preparing your food. Very entertaining!

The food was excellent, and although somewhat on the pricey side, was still a good quantity - not too little, and not too much. We didn't leave hungry, but we weren't so stuffed that you had to roll us out of the restaurant :-)

A great experience, and we were happy with the meal & the service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeisterEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Traveling through Bellingham a stumbled upon this place. Time for dinner and was not disappointed. Great food and a good show at the same time. Had better fried rice but theirs was not bad. I will eat there again next time in Bellingham.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank License697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun, fun”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I really like Kyoto. The food is good, it's entertaining and its great to meet new people at the communal table. Our family enjoys going here because we can all be seated at one table and enjoy the show and each other.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jbzanotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyoto Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Kyoto Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing